Booking Through Thursday – It’s All About ME!

Booking Through Thursday

This weeks BTT Question is:

Which do you prefer? Biographies written about someone? Or Autobiographies written by the actual person (and/or ghost-writer)?

To be honest, I’m not a big fan of factual writing so I don’t read many autobiographies. I think it would depend very much on

a) If the personality was still alive – yes I would prefer to read their Autobiography

b) If I thought they were a bad writer / would give an un-informative version of events – no I would prefer to read a Biography.

What I’d really prefer would be a semi-fictional account by a brilliant writer – for example I very much enjoyed Peter Cary’s True History of the Kelly Gang because of the quality of writing and storytelling. The one biography that has piqued my interest lately is thisMuriel Spark Biography - Martin Stannard Muriel Spark Biographyby Martin Stannard but it’s in hardcover so I may have to wait until it be comes a bargain or comes out in paperback!

Do you read (auto)biographies? If you do, what do you enjoy about them. Do you think I should try reading more or should I stick to fiction?

10 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – It’s All About ME!

  1. just like you I dont often read biographies …but I waht to read On Writing by Stephen King

  2. Yes, I like semi-biographical fiction. One of my favorites is “Wintering” about Sylvia Plath. I seem to have Plath on the brain today!

  3. I like the idea of semi-fictional auto/biographies. Have you read J.M. Coetzee’s trilogy (i think) of fictional biographies?

  4. You might like Jimmy Buffet’s books. He writes a mixture of fiction and memoir and it’s fun to try to sort of which is which. My post is here.

  5. Everytime I have seen that Muriel Spark book I have instantly thought “ooh Polly would love that”.

  6. Ooh and she would though!

Leave a Reply

