Never-ending Knitting and other random updates!

Firstly a big Happy Birthday to two very important ladies in my life, Mum and Step-Mum!

Secondly, yesterday was very exciting as the Photographer fiancé and I both went along to the registry office to officially ‘give notice’ that we plan to get married. We met a lovely lady and probably gossiped far too much about irrelevant things but finally signed our pieces of paper (pink for me and blue for him colour co-ordinated for filing and kind of cute). I also booked one appointment at a wedding dress shop. Woo!

Liberty Print Wedding Scrapbook

‘Homemade’ Liberty Print Wedding Scrapbook

This is pretty good progress as apart from booking the venue I haven’t done much planning unless you count starting a wedding scrapbook which I covered with some pretty Liberty cotton and watching lots of episodes of Don’t Tell The Bride (highly entertaining UK show where the groom plans the wedding).

As a nice segue into my next topic I’d like to say thank you to everyone for your encouraging and insightful comments on my last post about blogging principles. It seems many of you don’t mind or indeed actively enjoy a bit of random personal stuff on a blog. Not sure about how interested you are in knitting but you only have yourselves to blame, and I do promise to put some bookish updates on over the next few days!

You may or may not remember that I started knitting a rather ambitious jumper way back in Autumn 2011, full of confidence after completing my first cardigan.

Debbie Bliss Cable Knit Cardigan

The cardigan of doom…

What with being distracted Christmas knits, spring coming around and it generally being a huge, never-ending project I lost my momentum. I did make some progress:

Cable knit up close

Pretty cable and moss-stitch in 100% merino wool

The back – with A4 knitting pattern book for scale

Left front panel

Work in progress…

So now the nights are closing in and there are episodes of Downton and The Paradise for me to catch up on plus the first series of Homeland (yes I’m letting TV steal my reading time but at least it’s not TOWIE!), I’ve decided to crack on.

Oh, only eleven-and-a-half balls of wool to go!

Anyone want to guess when I’ll be finished?

6 responses to “Never-ending Knitting and other random updates!

  1. That’s some ambitious knitting!!

    Glad to know you are going post about knitting and of course the wedding!

  2. Envious of your knitting, it’s so good! The notebook is very pretty, it would be interesting to see what you fill it with.

  3. loving the aran knitting my gran and aunt both knitted and both did lots of aran I had a lot of aran jumpers growing up ,all the best stu

Leave a Reply

