Christmas Knits

In this previous post I mentioned that my knitting energy had been diverted in December to knitting gifts. Now that they’ve been gifted I can reveal what they are…

Sparkly sequinned wristwarmers in soft and cosy (Debbie Bliss Rialto Aran) 100% merino wool:

A pair of socks in a soft yet sturdy cashmere / merino / acrylic mix (Rowan Cashsoft 4 ply) for toasty feet:

(a little too big even for my feet!)

And a tea cosy, knitted in a lovely shade of teal (Rowan Felted Tweed Chunky) Merino / Alpaca / Viscose mix, which I wanted to keep.

And here they are all together:

Thanks OH for your photographic skills. All patterns are from Jenny Lord’s excellent book Purls of Wisdom – reviewed here.

Everyone needs a bit of granny-chic in their lives surely?!

Did you give / receive any handmade presents this Christmas?

9 responses to “Christmas Knits

  1. Oh, they’re all lovely! I especially want the wristwarmers and tea cozy. :DDD

    • Haha, well the socks are serious MAN socks so I think that the tea cosy / wristwarmers would suit your feminine side. 🙂

  2. Polly I got the book for Christmas! I love it but I fear I am never going to be able to knit socks!!

    • I’m sure you will! Tip – learn to knit in the round as a starting point (wristwarmers are a very good place to start :)) Also use bamboo needles which are lighter and the stitches don’t fall off as easily!

  3. You are brave to knit socks that is one thing I have not tried and if I did my mum has refuses to help me!

    I did not get any homemade gifts but I gave plenty and aim to do so for many years to come.

    • Jo! You can totally do it yourself, don’t be afraid. As per previous comment, if you haven’t done it already try knitting in the round – it’s actually pretty easy because once you get the hang of the multiple needles you just go round, and round and round in knit stitch. Simples! Glad to hear you are a fellow handmade gift giver 🙂

  4. love the tea cosy ,no but once had a cardigan knitted by a old lady i looked after many years ago which I treasured and my gran made us all aran jumpers when younger ,all the best stu

  5. The tea cozy is gorgeous and what you say about everyone needing a bit of granny-chic in their lives is so true…

  6. Pingback: Never-ending Knitting and other random updates! | Novel Insights

Leave a Reply

