Just go buy a Kindle then!

I just want to preface this post by saying that this isn’t a rant about Kindle devices per se, it’s a rant about people waffling on about them! Yesterday at about this time I was on tube, squished in between one person’s armpit and someone else’s crotch, trying to read The Visitor, by Maeve Brennan, and all I could hear was two men of about middle-age, discussing the relative merits of buying a Kindle.

I’m not averse to e-readers at all, in fact I do have both the Kindle and Eucalyptus (Project Gutenberg) iPhone apps. I’m even quite tempted to buy a Kindle at some point after I have chugged through at least half of my massive pile of unread books at home, although I think I will always enjoy having hard copies of the books I love to read.

20111122-084549.jpg
(Via prettybooks.tumblr.com)

So anyway, while practicing being a human sandwich with my book at a distance from my face which might be fine if I had Myopia (which I don’t) I was treated to a fascinating discussion about whether this guy should buy a Kindle. The discussion concluded with the man suggesting that it might make him read more because it would be so easy to download books. Despite trying very hard to read myself I just couldn’t help the little voice in my head which said “NO!!! If you don’t read now a Kindle isn’t going to turn you into one!” Am I being unfair? I don’t think so as of you wanted to read you’d be holding a book and not talking about it! And… “shut UP !! So I can read my book!!”

Ah well, rant over. After all, it is a free country and my grumblings may be only indicative of the fact that traveling on the tube on weekday mornings is never that pleasant and it’s time for a holiday…

What do you think? Should the man get a Kindle? Will it make him read more? Do you care?

21 responses to “Just go buy a Kindle then!

  1. No matter what “tool” makes a person read more, that tool should be acquired 🙂

  2. Hmm, he might read more until the novelty wears off. I have an e-reader which I really like and think is gorgeous, but I keep forgetting I have it and end up reading proper books!

  3. This had me lol! I, too, get tired of this discussion. No, I don’t think an electronic device will turn a non-reader into a reader, but maybe it’s a better thing to stare at in public than video games on a phone? I don’t know. What I wonder most about is why the ease of downloading thousands of books onto an electronic device would make anyone think they would actually read them. It is, after all, fairly easy to check a book out of the library and even to pick up used books for a small price.
    I’m sticking with my real books – that I can touch and smell. 🙂

  4. Haha, very funny, Polly! Love the cartoon you link to too. I absolutely agree that Kindles won’t make individuals read more – books aren’t exactly difficult to come by as it is. He might *buy* more, but he probably would just spend his train journeys discussing what he might download next, rather than reading any of them.

  5. I don’t see it helping either, it’s just as easy to pick up a book, and he’d probably forget to charge it if he’s not generally bothered!

    • Ah you’ve just reminded me, that was one of the ‘benefits’ he was discussing – the length of time you could leave it without charging. Yawn…

  6. Haha. I agree. I can see this sitting in the corner of his living room next to his classical guitar (unplayed) and squash rackets (also covered in dust)

  7. I agree with you that a Kindle won’t make a reader. I also think you happened to be near one of those conversations (that can be on any topic) that just rubs you the wrong way and makes you want to scream at them to shut up.

    • ABSOLUTELY – probably one of my grumpier moments. I think when you’re just starting a book and not yet absorbed in it, that’s when you want to be most focused (that and reading the end of a book…)

  8. I had a sony it broke and be honest don’t miss it didn’t read more for having it ,I just love paper to much lol ,all the best stu

  9. 🙂 Humm… I’ll immediately change my position if I see just one example, but I skeptical about a Kindle making someone read more. I try not to be grumpy about e-Readers (also have one), but I’m too afraid of a world without paper books.

  10. Agree with others – if he is not a reader now the kindle won’t turn him into one.
    I do own a kindle but I find that I

  11. Im not going to buy a kindle. if i do, i will end up buying more than i can ever hope to read. having to actually find the book second hand shop, really limits the amount of books i buy

  12. Pingback: Kindle Cover Orange With Light | myhotkindleblog.info

  13. Pingback: Kindle Dx Moleskine | myhotkindleblog.info

  14. Pingback: Kindle Audio Books The Hunger Games | myhotkindleblog.info

Leave a Reply

