My first cardigan!

Ok, so it is not my first cardigan ever owned, but it is my first cardigan made by my own fair hands! I’m so excited I have to share. Here are some cheesy pics …

The pattern is from Rowan Studio Knit edition 10, and I substituted the yarn suggested with Lenpur Linen in ‘incense’ shade 568 with help from the wonderful ladies at Liberty (because it was in the sale and I do love a bargain!). Mother of pearl button from John Lewis haberdashery.

At first it was quite a challenge to get the hang of the shaping as I’ve never followed such a detailed pattern before and some of the instructions baffled me (especially about ‘alt rows’) until I did some searches on the internet and found out that it wasn’t just me and there were plenty of answers out there! I also kept my trusty copy of Purls of Wisdom handy for looking up tips. The stitches were simple (stocking and rib), and the yarn was silky smooth. Because it’s quite a loosely twisted yarn it tends to split so I had to be careful not to accidentally add stitches or ruin the texture.  I’m glad I chose the yarn in the end though as it gives a lovely sheen and seems to adapt to the climate I’m in well, keeping me warm when it’s cool and cool when it’s warmer. Making up required quite a lot of concentration but I’m learning that patience and measured progress is key in getting a good result – looks like I’m learning a bonus life-skill along with the knitting!

This little cardigan was really a prototype of sorts for a more ambitious project. This beautiful hooded cardigan with cable and moss stitch detail from Debbie Bliss. I’ve already begun, and despite quite a few moments of furrowed-brow and head-scratching it seems to be going quite well (fingers crossed!).

I’m so, so enjoying my little knitting projects. Although I have to admit that I’m a sucker for cheap clothing when I need a fashion-fix, making items myself really makes an item personal and special. I really have to think before I start a pattern, am I going to love this when it’s done? I also find it wonderfully therapeutic sitting in front of the telly clacking away and so rewarding when I’ve completed a project.

Have you been making things recently, or planning to do so for Christmas? Do you prefer a visit to the shops? 🙂

(N.B. Thanks to my kind bf photographer for taking pictures for this post.)

25 responses to “My first cardigan!

  1. That is a-mazing!! WOW! It looks so professional. I’d be scared to wash it or wear it I think. I wish I could knit….

  2. That is SO impressive!

  3. Lovely many years ago some old people I looked after knitted me a cardigan land my gran was a great Aran knitter in her time all the best stu

  4. That is absolutely fantastic! Which pattern is it? The classic cardigan? I am glad I am not the only one who disregards suggested yarns in favour of ‘whatever is on sale’ 🙂

    • Spot on – it is indeed the ‘classic cardigan’. I wanted something simple enough to get started but something I’d actually wear. I must have been in the shop browsing for ages!

  5. You made that?! Color me impressed! The color is, of course, gorgeous.

    • Aw, thank you – I’m blushing at all these lovely comments. One of the reasons that I want to become a good knitter is to customise clothing in my own colours and textures 🙂

  6. Congratulations on your first cardigan! I’ve never made anything more complcated than a scarf so I am impressed. I also love the photos – you are so lucky to have someone able to take such amazing photos.

  7. I am so impressed, I can’t even manage a simple scarf..I’ve started a few times and dropped so many stitches I’ve given up! The Arran hooded cardie is gorgeous. If you get really good I will pay good money for you to knit one for me.. 😉

    • Oh don’t give up! Or do if it frustrates you too much 🙂 I’ll have to become a quicker knitter first, but one day i might take you up on your offer 😉

  8. It’s beautiful! We love the photos here. You have inspired my eldest to move on from scarves. I got her a copy of The Purls of Wisdom this summer, but she hasn’t had time to get started on anything. Seeing your finished sweater really encouraged her to “get cracking.” Thanks for modeling for us!

    • Hurrah! So pleased to hear it. Suggest to try patterns as a first next step – rewarding but not too complicated! Or maybe the wristwarmers (depending on whether knitting in the round seems daunting or not) 🙂

  9. Fantastic, I love the pockets – and admire your patience.

  10. Look at you model book blogger. Your cardigan will match my gloves if you were it tomorrow, my gloves are a new perminant attachment so thank you so much for sending them. I have to agree with everyone else, its a blinking professional looking cardy Pol!

  11. It looks fab and I love the colour. The photos are very professional and it was nice to put a face to the blog as well.

    Knitting can be so therapeutic in so many ways, and when you see the finished item even months later, there is a little beam of pride.

    • Ooh, you’re a knitter too Jo! I just popped over and did a bit of snooping on your blog. Such dedication of your mum to unpick and re-do the queen’s outfit for the royal wedding 🙂

  12. You were wearing this at last book group, weren’t you? I remember because I thought the colour was so lovely!

    • I was indeed – good spot! THe original pattern was in a sort of insipid blue colour so I swapped in the lovely aubergine 🙂

  13. Pingback: Never-ending Knitting and other random updates! | Novel Insights

Leave a Reply

