Just a little dose of Daphne today…

I spent last night out at Bookmarked Salon seeing the wonderful Jane Harris (writer of The Observations) and Carol Birch (Man Booker shortlisted for her novel Jamrach’s Menagerie). I thoroughly enjoyed the readings, which resulted in me adding two more books to the pile (Jamrach’s Menagerie and Jane Harris’ new book Gillespie & I). Is it wrong that I was really excited about reading them after the authors read two slightly gruesome excerpts?

Anyway… I did mean to type up a post sharing some wisdom by way of Daphne DuMaurier quotes last night, but that didn’t happen. I’ll be popping up a proper post tomorrow in the form of a review of Justine Picardie’s Daphne but for now I’ll leave you with three of my favourite Daphne du Maurier musings:

“Happiness is not a possession to be prized, it is a quality of thought, a state of mind.”

“We are all ghosts of yesterday, and the phantom of tomorrow awaits us alike in sunshine or in shadow, dimly perceived at times, never entirely lost.”

“Writers should be read, but neither seen nor heard.”

2 responses to “Just a little dose of Daphne today…

  1. I forgot that I also have a copy of Picardie’s Daphne on my shelf. Not sure if I have time to read it this month, but we’ll see. I’m dying to read Jane Harris’ books as I’ve heard so many good things about them, and same with Jamrach’s Menagerie.

  2. Ah did you buy them both in the end? Was a great night and lovely to meet you. I’m so stupid – because I’d never read it before I thought when you said you had ‘The Observations’ with you that you’d jotted down some notes about the books we were about to hear about…I was very impressed 🙂

Leave a Reply

