Odds and sods

Hello everyone. Poor Novel Insights has been a little neglected as of late what with a rather manic time at work (I’m starting a new job soon – exciting!) and a recent lovely trip to Holland where, contrary to expectations I read absolutely nothing. Yes – zero books!

(My nemesis…)

For some reason I seem to have lost my reading mojo a little (I’m blaming it on The Hare with the Amber Eyes, which I’m reading for my Riverside Readers book group and is very well written but I’m finding rather a slow read).

Actually I had rather a nice time not-reading. Sometimes, it is nice to zone-out and switch your brain to other things – rubbish telly, pottering about, eating lots, art galleries, enjoying lots of Dutch beer and cheese (yum). Since I’ve come back I’ve also nearly finished the cardigan I started knitting in June.

Classic Cardigan

This is super exciting as it’s my first real, proper big item of clothing and I think I’ve done quite a good job if I do say so myself. Here it is in abstract. I have only a couple of pockets and a button to add and then I’ll do the big reveal (I bet you’re on the edge of your seat… :))

Oh, and it was my birthday on the 25th August. Only one year before the big 30 now!

What have you all been up to? Do you ever lose your reading mojo?

8 responses to “Odds and sods

  1. Well, The Hare with the Amber Eyes would ruin anyone’s reading mojo — I’ve been struggling with it for 2 weeks and I’ve still got 100 pages to go!

    The Dutch trip sounds fab and I’m impressed with your knitting. I used to knit in my teens and 20s and did all kinds of convoluted patterns (cable, fairisle etc) but I haven’t picked up any needles for at least 15 years. I doubt I’d remember how to knit now.

    Finally, a belated happy birthday to you! Oh, and looking forward to hearing about the new job…

  2. I love the cardie one of my favourtie colours so I look forward to seeing it completed.

    Sometimes you do have to zone out of reading, needless telly is my way or some really really easy novels to read. I am not sure about picking up The Hare with the Amber Eyes now!

    Been at the 29 stage and actually that was worse than being 30! Remember it is only the number of times you have been round the sun. Good luck in the new job.

  3. There must be something in the air, because I have been reading very little despite not working at the moment. And – many I say -that is a very accomplished first cardigan.

  4. I am having a similar weekend myself – sometimes I just don’t fancy reading and only rubbish TV or films I haven’t seen for years will do. Nothing wrong with a little break from the books

    Happy belated Birthday! I hit the BIG FOUR-OH in a month! 😉

  5. Hope you had a lovely birthday! And good luck with finishing The Hare with Amber Eyes. The Boy in the Striped Pyjama was on telly at around the same time I was finishing the book and it made my reading of it more poignant. The film was brilliant but very sad.

    Am very impressed with your knitting project!

  6. I zip through hare loved it just hope he writes again as he has a wonderful storytelling style ,hope hge has some more interesting family members to tell us about ,all the best stu

  7. Hey, everyone needs a break from reading, even the most serious readers. You’ll appreciate your love of books even more when you can dive back in. Good luck with the new job!

  8. I just had my birthday a few days ago too! (need to write up a bit about that) Enjoy your last 2, I just left it this birthday :).

Leave a Reply

