How To Be a Woman, by Caitlin Moran

5 stars5/5

Caitlin Moran’s book How To Be a Woman, is part memoir, part plea to all women to be true to themselves, not accept sexist double standards and basically use their common sense.

Ebury Press, 2011 paperback edition, 320 pages - personal library

It’s a book that both women and men should read, and it is accessible and enjoyable for men too – I tried it out on my other half! The experience of reading this book is a bit like having an older, wiser big sister telling you her view of life.

It’s opinionated, passionate and very funny. It’s the right conversation to be having now. Even if it is more autobiography and a bit of a rant than being a careful exploration of feminist theory, it is a book that challenges all the stupid things that women are told (and tell themselves) with a big bucketful of humour and for that, I love Caitlin Moran. I lost count of the times I chuckled out loud reading this on public transport. I only hope that the people giving me baffled looks went and got themselves a copy! Not everyone will agree with everything Moran says, and as my boyfriend pointed out she does go a little bit off the boil (slightly more rant and less logic) towards the middle of the book, but that’s exactly what I like about her – she just tells it as she sees it in a funny and also poignant way.

An absolute tonic.

Have you read How To Be a Woman? Have you read any books recently that made you laugh out loud?

12 responses to “How To Be a Woman, by Caitlin Moran

  1. I loved this book – brilliantly funny but with a very sensible underlying message. I’m trying to force everyone I know to read the chapter on hair!

  2. I really want to read it and plan to do so soon as I love her column in The Times. Good to hear that it’s just as funny!

  3. I’ve seen quite a few women reading this on the tube and it sounds great. Need to get myself a copy! Several years ago I read Ariel Levy’s Female Chauvinist Pigs which may interest you too.

  4. Female Chauvinist pigs was excellent – it also sounds very similar to ‘living dolls’ which I haven’t read. So many books so little time…

  5. I do love her columns in the Times, but had read a couple of bad reviews of this, so wasn’t sure. Now I’m more predisposed to like it!

  6. Pingback: Novel Insights’ Top 12 Books – 2011 | Novel Insights

  7. Pingback: Novel Insights’ Top 12 Books – 2011 | Novel Insights

  8. Pingback: How to Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran | Iris on Books

  9. Pingback: First Resolution of the Year: Not Blogging! | Novel Insights

  10. Pingback: Novel Insights on Savidge Reads #1 | Savidge Reads

Leave a Reply

