Latest Books

Latest books to arrive at Novel Insights:

20110705-210047.jpg

20110705-210133.jpg

20110705-210159.jpg

20110705-210210.jpg

20110705-210221.jpg

20110707-085934.jpg

Thanks to lovely Chasing Bawa for The Lake and fond friend Simon for the Penguin Classics.

Recognise / read any?

18 responses to “Latest Books

  1. I absolutely love The Yellow Wallpaper, have you read it yet? I studied it at uni years ago and had completely forgot about, maybe it’s time to read it again. I noticed the book on Northumbria as well, I’m from the North East and love county walks in Alnwick etc

    • novelinsights

      Not yet, I’m looking forward to it. I think I saw it on another blog a while ago and so I noticed it when I was in the library. I grew up in the North East and have been nagging my boyfriend to go camping for ages, so we are going to Budle Bay / Bamburgh way for a couple of nights in June. I can’t wait. I hope it’s nice weather as I’m determined that he will think it is as idyllic as I did when I was little.

  2. Is that “Amsterdam” by Ian McEwan? If so, then it’s a fantastic book. It was my first encounter with McEwan and I instantly fell in love with his way of telling stories 🙂

    • novelinsights

      Oops, it’s not so easy to see. It’s actually a guide to Amsterdam, but I do also have a copy of Ian McEwan’s Amsterdam. I’ll have to dig that out and bump it up my TBR.

  3. So jealous of that copy of The Comforters! So, so jealous.

  4. The How to be a Woman book I keep seeing on Amazon. I am tempted but it has mixed reviews (although I do not normally let that put me off!)

    • novelinsights

      I’m reading it for a work book group and am now really quite looking forward to it. Will make a change for me from reading fiction most of the time!

  5. Ohh, The Lazy Tour of Two Idle Apprentices! I love that book! (I’m lazy as hell, though, so that might have helped)

    • novelinsights

      Hehe. I’d never heard of it but I love Wilkie Collins so I though I should pick it up.

      • I didn’t even knew Wilkie Collins existed before I picked that book (and I didn’t like Dickens that much, either). But the characters were so joyously lazy! The book so fun! It was love at first reading ♥

  6. wonderful selection of books there Polly ,I want to read lake at some point ,all the best stu

    • novelinsights

      Thanks Stu! I’m so chuffed to have got a copy. I’ve never read any of her novels but I’m looking forward to doing so.

  7. So many books. They all seem great. I can’t wait to read Lake.

    • novelinsights

      Have you read any other novels by Banana Yoshimoto before? I’m looking forward to reading it after hearing good things about her writing…

  8. Hope you enjoy The Lake – I have it as an ebook, so it’s not quite as pretty.

  9. I’ve been intending to read The Comforters for a while – it’s on my shelf – let me know if you’re planning to read it, and I’ll try to join in 🙂

    And I love Caitlin Moran’s columns, but I’ve got to say the review I read today (in a newspaper, for once!) didn’t make me want to pick it up… I like her less when she’s coarse, and apparently she’s coarser than ever in this book.

Leave a Reply

