Holiday Reading

Hello from Bangkok!

I didn’t get a chance to post my holiday reads before leaving yesterday so now I’m unpacked and wirelessly connected here they are:

20110508-230526.jpg

I’ve been quite modest with my packing as it’s easy to get (and swap) English language books here. Bangkok 8 was recommended to me by Nomadreader, and The Road to Wanting (passed on to me by Savidge Reads) is partially set in Thailand. Girl In Translation is nothing to do with Thailand but I’ve been looking forward to reading it since I heard Jean Kwok speak at a book event so thought it would be a good one to pack. I also downloaded Val McDermid’s The Mermaids Singing to my Kindle app for iPhone – not suitable for poolside reading!!

Kind of deciding whether to get a copy of The Beach, but for some reason I really don’t fancy it. I think it has something to do with memories of the Leonardo DiCaprio film being long and depressing but it’s a long time since I saw it so maybe I should try the book?

5 responses to “Holiday Reading

  1. Hi

    You *must* read The Beach. I read it and loved it a couple of years before the film came out and was sorely disappointed at how little detail the film went into – being born out of a story that was, I seem to remember, pretty profound by comparison. Its ace and its trippy, I would definately recommend it.

  2. Happy holiday Polly!

    I really want to read 2 of the books you have there – Girl in Translation and Road to Wanting so will be interested to see your thoughts.

    I read The Beach in about 1998 (before it came out in film) and remember really enjoying it. Also, The Mermaids Singing is fabulous – I love Val McDermid (and I know Simon is now a fan too so hope you enjoy).

    Have a great time 🙂

  3. Have a lovely time while you’re away! I’ve heard very good things of Road to Wanting and Girl in Translation – will be interested to see what you think.

  4. I’ve been wanting to read Bangkok 8 for a long time – hope you enjoy it:) Do go and eat at Koka (Thai steamboat restaurant) if you have a chance because it’s seriously tasty!

  5. great choices have a great hoilday ,all the best stu

Leave a Reply

