Reasons to be cheerful 1…2…3…

Bunting pic borrowed from Fairypie.co.uk1. I’m off to brave the crowds tomorrow with my Nan and soak up some of the Royal Wedding atmosphere. She’s bringing Pimms and lemonade in a Thermos, and I’m bringing her little stool that she stood on nearly 30 years ago.

I am rather unprepared having previously decided to keep well clear but now I’m quite excited!

2. Something rather brilliant arrived in the post today…

3. And I’m off to Thailand on holiday in a week. I’ve had some good suggestions so far for books to read but if you have any more ideas please pop them here!

Oh and it’s a long weekend too here in the UK, so that’s a fourth!

Are you doing anything fun this weekend?

19 responses to “Reasons to be cheerful 1…2…3…

  1. That is completely wonderful that you will be get to be with your Nan. Just think, you might go to the next one with your own child and that stool…

    4 day weekends are the best – even though I have had to work (and have to work tomorrow) everyone else is so happy that I benefit vicariously 🙂

    • What a lovely idea! It’s so nice that you are cheerful for the long weekend even though you are working. Hope you enjoy a nice relaxing Sunday though!

  2. I m working but just had a great long weekend ,hope you have a good weekend ,all the best stu

  3. I love the stool! I too hadn’t given the wedding much thought, but am now excited (if a little unprepared). Lucky you, I’m sure Thailand will be fantastic!

  4. Good luck with the wedding tomorrow. I’m not brave enough to face the crowds, but I look forward to hearing how your day was.

    • 🙂 Thanks Jackie. I felt the same way but my Nan put me to shame so thought I should go along and so glad I did now.

  5. What a great idea with the stool – an heirloom!

  6. Lucky you, I am from the US and wanted to see Princess Diana’s wedding, I was in my early 20’s then, now it’s happening again. I don’t know how old you are, but are people going ga-ga over the royal wedding as Diana. It doesn’t feel like a big deal this time. The royal wedding with Diana was a fairy tale wedding. It feels a bit different here, in America this time around than last time. I am still going to watch it on the TV. Have a good time watching, hope you have a great time.

    • I think for many people this is just as big a deal, possibly because it feels more ‘real’ and they seem like a modern couple! Hope you enjoyed watching!

  7. I love it! I hope your gran got to see something of the wedding and you both enjoyed the Pimms and lemonade. I am watching the arrvals at tBuckingham Palace right now from NYC.

    • It was a bit of a squeeze but I think she got a glimpse and enjoyed it immensely! Hope you enjoyed watching all the way from NYC!!

  8. Have fun Polly! I was in London last weekend – it was so HOTTTTTT!!!!! Oh, and you MUST go to Daunt – I insist! It is my new favourite bookshop.

  9. I’m from the west coast in the states. My wife stayed up all night watching all the royal hullabaloo…and then called in sick! Enjoy Thailand! –I look forward to posts about it!

  10. Hope you had a lovely time (it was on at dinner time over here) and it looked like great fun!

    • It was brilliant fun. Saw lots of news items with Aussies watching the wedding in bars – a good time for it to be on so you can enjoy your dinner or evening drink!

Leave a Reply

