Ne’er cast a clout…

After a week or so of beautiful sunny weather in England, the air has turned decidedly chilly. It just goes to show that maybe my latest knitting project wasn’t so unseasonal after all.

And here they are in all their glory – my lovely purple wristwarmers modelled by yours truly, and teamed with a fetching animal print cardie :

Knitted Wristwarmers

They are knitted in Debbie Bliss, Rialto Aran #13 using 4.5mm double-pointed needles. I used a pattern from the wonderful Purls of Wisdom (review coming soon), and added my own ribbed edge – get me, improvising already!

They were surprisingly simple and quick to make and now I can knit ‘in the round’ I expect that I’ll be making all sorts of circular garments!

Have you ever tried your hand at knitting or similar crafts?

26 responses to “Ne’er cast a clout…

  1. Ooooh, I hardly ever see other book bloggers admitting to their secret knitting habits! These are really ace – perfect for when you mistakenly believe that it was warm enough to have a bbq and end up in sub-zero temperatures at 9pm on an April evening 🙂

    • Hehe – well I’m secretly hoping that I can become such an adept knitter that I’ll be making high-fashion 🙂 Yes I’m finally starting to learn to keep wrapped up until … well…. erm most of the year come to think of it in the UK!

  2. They are GORGEOUS! I wish I could knit…

    • Thanks Verity! Maybe if we bump into each other at a blogger do I can bring my needles and show you a few stitches 🙂

  3. They are gorgeous! I always have extremely cold hands when i’m on the laptop and reading,i’ve been saying for weeks i should go and buy some.. i can knit but i just don’t have the time at present,and i have no knitting equipment i lost a huge collection of needles,yarn,wool etc when i moved house 😦 i am very tempted to go and buy some needles after seeing these beauties! 🙂

    • I think you should 🙂 Any excuse is good to peruse a nice haberdashery. What a shame you lost your needles when moving house 😦

  4. They are lovely! I don’t do much crafting these days. I used to cross stitch more, and we have tons of rubber stamps that we use to make cards/scrapbook pages. But, alas, none of that happens during the school year – we all get too busy. Summer is upon us, though, so I hope to pull some of those projects back out soon. My dds all make their Christmas gifts for family during the summer – I’ll have to show them your handiwork – perhaps you will inspire them. 🙂

    • Ah, Susan what a lovely thought! It would be nice to think that I might give someone an idea for a homemade Christmas gift. I used to do stitching when I was little but haven’t done that for a while. So therapeutic doing crafty things I think.

  5. Nice one Polly and perfect for this weather! You’re on a roll:)

  6. Those are so pretty! Well done you. I love Debbie Bliss wool.

    • Thank you! I’ve been keeping up to date on your own crafty adventures. I can’t wait until I have the space to sew again, it’s liberating to be able to make things you like.

  7. Oh my favourite colour, I could imagine a pair with DduM initialled on them… hint hint!

  8. Say, a fella could wear these in black (no offense savidgereads); I like ’em! I can hardly tie my shoe, so I’ll have to wait until you mass market them.

  9. These are lovely – such a gorgeous colour too. I’ll definitely be knitting whilst watching the royal wedding on tv tomorrow! Trouble is I’m not very inspired by the wool or the pattern I’ve got this time so think I’ll have to get to Loop while I’m in London.

    • Loop in Islington?! If so – fabulous shop (maybe they have other branches I don’t know). Definitely get something different if you’re not inspired. Too much effort to end up with something you don’t 100% I think!

  10. Wow, they look great and so professionally done! You’re inspiring me to give knitting another go.

    • Thanks Mae! Best thing is to pick some lovely wool and then you can’t fail to be happy with the result 🙂

  11. Every stitch is perfectly placed! Those purple wristwarmers are wonderful! Great job, and they look so nice on your hands.

  12. Great job. Glad to hear you stuck with the round needles, once you get into the swing of it, it does become easier.

    I have just knitted a chicken using round needles, and will hopefully blog about her soon!

  13. Pingback: Not Knitting | Novel Insights

  14. Pingback: Not Knitting | Las Rias

  15. Pingback: May & June Review | Novel Insights

Leave a Reply

