New Book Loot

It’s time for my round-up of new arrivals which as usual are in total disproportion to my ability to actually read them all. Hey – who needs logic where book-love is concerned?!

First up, two gorgeous little paperbacks, which are part of a new series celebrating the 50th anniversary of Penguin Modern Classics. Aptly there are 50 titles of which I am lucky enough to have got my mitts on two. By one of my very favourite authors, Truman Capote, there is the intriguingly titled Children on Their Birthdays, and also Through the Wall, by Ludmilla Petrushevskaya (I couldn’t resist the phrase “dreamlike and blackly comic” in the synopsis on Amazon).

Penguin Modern Classics

Sanjida O’Connell’s book Sugar Island is set during the months leading up to the American Civil War and sounds like a good one to save for a summer read. Perhaps it’s just the luxurious colours on the cover that make me think of warm hazy days.

Sugar Island

I heard a reading of Naomi Wood’s The Godless Boys not so long ago. A debut novel, it explores religious conflict in an alternative England. It’s been a while since I read any dystopian literature so this debut might be the thing…

Naomi Wood, The Godless Boys

Pereine, wonderful Pereine. Next World Novella is the latest in this lovely little publisher’s series of translated European fiction. I have high hopes, after enjoying numbers 1, 2 and 3 in the series,(so much in fact that I bought the set for my Mum’s birthday!)

Next World Novella, Peirene Press

I had a recent binge of buying Hungarian literature in advance of my trip to Budapest. Life Is A Dream, is a book of short stories about the decadent side of Budapest by Gyula Krudy. I also bought Antal Szerb’s Journey by Moonlight with my Christmas Waterstone’s vouchers and was rather distracted by his other titles which sounded right up my street such as this story about Marie Antoinette and the theft of her precious necklace.

Hungarian Literature

The latest choice for my book group, Alejandro Zambra’s The Private Life of Trees also arrived – a slip of a thing at little more than 90 pages!

I’m also most excited about this lovely copy of Purls of Wisdom: The Book of Knitting. Once I’ve finished my latest piece – a slightly epic attempt at a baby blanket – I’ll be looking in it for my next project.

Purls of Wisdom, Jenny Lloyd

On the subject of knitting, how cool are these crazy creatures? Knitting wacky creations has apparently become a phenomenon in Tokyo. I need to get my skills up to scratch!

Knit Wits - Japanese knitting trend

Finally, something I spotted in my latest issue of Vogue. Harper Collins are publishing fairy tales illustrated by famous designers. Christian Lacroix’s sketches adorn The Tale of Sleeping Beauty, and Manolo Blahnik has apparantly lent his design-expertise to the story of The Elves and the Shoemaker.

I want!!!

Vogue Fairytales, Harper Collins

What arrivals have you had lately. What books are you lusting after?

8 responses to “New Book Loot

  1. Purls of Wisdom – I love that title! And the illustrated fairy tales looks lovely:)

  2. Sugar Island does look like a summer read, and sounds quite interesting.

    I love the knitting. I am currently knitting an adult size blanket!

  3. Well I’m lusting after those fairy tales as well now. they look amazing, as does your holiday picture.

  4. Wowsers you have had some loot there havent you? I am particularily keen to hear about the next Riverside Readers choice (I really miss you all) and also the Naomi Wood book which I am hankering after rather badly!

    • Oh my, I can post The Godless Boys to you if you like after I’ve read it (or before!!!) I assumed you’d have that one.

Leave a Reply

