TBR Update

Even though I’ve enforced a slow reading month, I still managed to accidentally fall into the library. To be fair I did so with a purpose. Having just booked a weekend break to Budapest to cure the winter blues (so excited!) I thought I should look into Hungarian literature, so picked up a copy of Fateless along with a Lonely Planet. I’m not expecting it to be cheerful (as it’s mostly set in Auschwitz), but I’m hoping that the Nobel Prize Winning novel , by Imre Kerteszis going to be a good read.

fateless imre kertesz

I’ve also updated the old TBR with my latest books from Christmas, Savidge Reads‘ benevolence, a charity shop raid and my latest book group read The New Confessions, by William Boyd.

Latest additions are:

The Visitor, by Maeve Brennan which looks short and spooky.
The Woman of Rome, Alberto Moravia – selected mainly for it’s lovely Penguin classic cover!
The modern classic – Wild Swans, Jung Chang
The Sinner and The Mephisto Club – I do love a bit of Tess Gerritsen and want to find time to read all the Rizzoli and Isles books from the start.
The House on the Strand by the wonderful Daphne Du Maurier
King Kong Theory by the controversial Virginie Despentes
In The Miso Soup, Ryu Murakami which I have had a hankering to read
Was, Geoff Ryman
Charity Shopping and The Thrift Lifestyle, Lettice Wilkinson – I do love a rummage.

What books have you added to your TBR lately? Can you recommend any of the books listed above?

9 responses to “TBR Update

  1. The Visitor is a novella I continually recommend, especially considering it is relatively unknown.

    I immensely enjoyed Wild Swans when I read it although that was fifteen years ago.

    Yay for winter mini-breaks! I’ve been around a fair amount of travel books this week and have a real hankering to go somewhere (sadly I don’t think that will be happening this season).

    • I definitley want to pick up The Visitor soon. It’s short and intriguing! Maybe you’ll have to have a stay-cation to make up for your travel limitations?

  2. I agree with Claire – Wild Swans is a wonderful book! I read it in 2004 before I went to China on holiday and loved it!

    I’m glad I’m not the only one not able to read much this month too!

    • I’m really looking forward to picking that up at some point. Ahh…. so it’s not just me! It’s good to kick back and do other things once in a while though isn’t it?!

  3. Nice pile Polly:) I haven’t read any of the books although I did read Almost Transparent Blue by Ryu Murakami many years ago which was rather disturbing. But I’ve been told you either love or loathe his work which are often controversial. And I’ve also heard Wild Swans is amazing. I’ve been meaning to read it some day. And I’m very curious about King Kong Theory! Enjoy your break away from London!

    • Thanks Sakura, I’m so looking forward to it. I’m expecting Miso Soup to be a bit disturbing, so I’ll need to be in the right mood!

  4. I somehow managed to read, and love, Wild Swans when I read it when I was around 15/16 years old. It opened up my eyes particularly since I didn’t know China was a communist country!

    Hurray for Budapest! I’ll be spending 2 days there as part of my Euro trip in April. Sniff out some bookish sites for me while you’re there! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Books Set in Hungary | Novel Insights

Leave a Reply

