Packing for Christmas

I’m off home at the end of the week (weather permitting), and now that I can drive, I have the unusual luxury of not having to worry about how heavy my luggage is. This means I can take a stack of books – hooray!

I’ve put aside the following books which will be travelling 300 miles with me this Christmas:

Christmas Reads

Muriel Spark: The Biography, by Martin Stannard
Nourishment, by Gerard Woodward
Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Bronte
Ours are the Streets, by Sunjeev Sahota
A Walk on the Wild Side, by Nelson Algren
Someone at a Distance, by Dorothy Whipple

They are mostly chunksters that I’ve been looking forward to sinking my teeth into. I’ve just started to read Jane Eyre, and have a romantic vision of myself curled up with a book just like the heroine, protected from the winter weather outside:

“Folds of scarlet drapery shut in my view to the right hand; to the left were the clear panes of glass, protecting, but not separating me from the drear November day. At intervals, while turning over the leaves of my book, I studied the aspect of that winter afternoon. Afar, it offered a pale blank of mist and cloud; near, a scene of wet lawn and storm-beat shrub, with ceaseless rain sweeping away wildly before a long and lamentable blast.”

What books are you planning to read over the holiday?

11 responses to “Packing for Christmas

  1. I plan to read my Christmas book presents – new Kate Morton and Ken Follett to name a couple! Christmas is a great time for chunksters!

    • It really is a fabulous time for reading Chunksters. I haven’t yet made it through Jane Eyre though… keep getting distracted by food and telly!

  2. Jane Eyre (on my christmas present Kindle)
    Trespass
    The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe..to conjure up some childhood christmas magic…and Romantic Moderns.
    Happy Christmas (and safe journey home)

    • Hi Tracey – you are reading Jane Eyre too! Hope that you enjoy it as much as I am at the moment. The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe is definitely good Christmas reading 🙂

  3. Packing books is the best bit about packing for holiday isn’t it? Enjoy and see you next year!

    • Totally. I think it’s partly because it is quite uncomplicated to pack books and so nice to imagine that you’ll have time to read them all. I’m always a bit ambitious though!! 🙂

  4. I love how all your books are colour-coordinated!!

    Hope you have a wonderful Christmas, Polly!

  5. I am really rather concerned because I have no idea what I want to read over the Christmas holidays and its freaking me out! I think maybe I need an hour or so with the bits of my TBR that arent in the garage and sort myself out!

    Hope you have a safe journey!

  6. How many did you get through? Isn’t it lovely to pack the car with books? And belated congratulations on passing your driving test!

    • Ahhh…. *blushes* I still haven’t finished Jane Eyre!!! Only a 100 pages to go though and then I’ve got 2 days to read A Walk on the Wild Side for book group. Whoops!

Leave a Reply

