Unseasonal Reading

I’m currently reading Christos Tsiolkas’ novel The Slap. I am enjoying it, as it’s quite easy to read and throws up some interesting discussion points, however I’m having a bit of a blip with it today and I think that it has partly to do with being such an unseasonal read.

The Slap - Christos Tsiolkis

Just not happening today...

At the moment, all I feel like doing is having hot baths, chatting on the phone, knitting (yes I’ve started my once-yearly, usually-abandoned-quickly knitting project) and reading a nice cosy book.

By cosy, I don’t necessarily mean cheerful. It can be a gloomy book but it has to be dramatic and exciting and makes me feel all the more lucky to be tucked up safe and sound. For example, I’m planning to read Jane Eyre at Christmas which I anticipate will tick all my Christmas-read boxes; classic, dramatic, set in another time, and a real story.

The Slap on the other hand is set in Australia at a summer barbecue, and it’s about ordinary lives. It is good read, but I’m just not feeling it today. I sense a bit of a diversion coming on – perhaps a bit of 90210 series 2  on the laptop (pure guilty pleasure) while I knit a few more rows…

I'd rather be knitting. Does watching a high-school drama at the same time reduce the granny-factor?

Do you ever find yourself reading the wrong kind of book for the season and struggling?

21 responses to “Unseasonal Reading

  1. think summer books can warm winter nights ,although must admiit the slap is a book I was very disappointed in ,he can’t write women ,all the best stu

    • That is true – perhaps it’s just the wrong one for me at the moment. I do know what you mean about the females in the book – not so strong…

  2. I really want to read the Slap but I agree I think it is a definite mood book.

    Enjoy

  3. I read the Slap a couple of months back and I’m still not sure I want to write about it. As a Greek Australian I thought I would love it but instead found it hard to characterise and easy to dislike. I won’t say anymore until you post on it! I’m trying to think of a novel that felt out of season… I’ll get back to you.

  4. Pingback: Five Feel-good Books | Novel Insights

  5. I just can’t seem to do summer books in winter, polly, it just seems wrong!

  6. Yes, I’ve done that a lot in the past but it’s weird that it won’t always “get” to me, only sometimes. I have planned a few wintery books for this month though, but whether I’ll actually read them is another thing.

    I’m thinking of doing some knitting soon too, I’m rather like you. I have two scarfs finished except for tidying the edges, and have had them for two years.

    • I suppose knitting is a bit of a comforting winter thing 🙂 You’d better get those scarves tidied and then you can cosy up in them or give them as Christmas presents!

  7. Your comment ‘a real story’ struck me because that’s one of the problems I have with a lot of contemporary fiction: no good story line. I want to be pulled along and into a book. I’ve just read the second of a 5 or 6 book series by Van Reid called the Adventures of the Moosepath League (The first book is ‘Cordelia Underwood’ and the second is ‘Mollie Peer’.) Great books! They were written in the late 1990’s and early 2000’s and take place in 1896 / 1897 in Maine, US. Wonderful characters that remind me of Twain or Dickens, humor, romance but no sex, no real violence, good story lines, and just generally a refreshing break from the gloomy, self examining fiction that’s so common. Good writing, too.

    • That sounds like a really interesting series, although I’ve never heard of them at all! A good story line is a must when you are feeling a bit dreary from the winter weather I think!

  8. Sometimes you need to give your brain a rest from books which do not sit right at the time of reading. I often do it.

    I love the knitting (I am a fellow knitter), what is it going to be?

    • So true! I have made quite a lot of progress (mostly in front of X-Factor final). It’s a Christmas present so I won’t reveal until it’s finish (might jinx it) but may post a picture when it’s done! Are you a knitting expert? I’m only a novice but am always envious of those who are more proficient.

  9. No wisdom from me re summer books in winter, or The Slap (it’s on TBR) – but just wanted to say that knitting has a cool factor as one of those things I wish I’d learnt from my grannies, and that I want to be able to do! Therefore no high school drama is needed to “reduce” the granny factor. Good luck with the knitting project!

    • HA, glad you think it has a bit of a cool factor. Perhaps join a knitting group for a bit of ‘stitch and bitch’ to get you started…!

  10. I love the knitting comment, I always think exactly the same when I’m doing it!

  11. Definitely. I wasn’t a fan of The Slap and I can’t imagine reading it in winter…I think it’s more suited to really hot and dry Aussie days.
    Gothic books in my opinion need to be read in rainy weather and Bryce Courtenay (Aussie author) in summer.

  12. I do wonder if seasons have an effect on our reading, maybe its SAD Reader syndrome, I also think its just about timing. Sometimes its a case of everything needing to be alligned and also of just struggling on through!

    • I’m pretty sure SAD reader syndrome really could be a real condition 🙂 I know what you mean though, sometimes it’s just a matter of alignment.

Leave a Reply

