Recent Arrivals

Incoming – books, books, books! Most of my new library additions are courtesy of Savidge Reads who has been having a bit of a clear out.

Having just read a recent review over at Hannah Stoneham’s Blog, I’m looking forward to reading Stone’s Fall. Ishiguru’s Never Let Me Go is also on my radar as one to read soon as well as a christmassy Agatha Raisin book!

I’m also thinking about reading the rather intriguing-sounding Strangers for this year’s Japanese Literature Challenge. I’m curious about, but daunted by Simone de Beauvoir’s The Second Sex – has anyone read it?

Welsh publisher, Seren Press has very kindly sent me a couple of books. Sing Sorrow Sorrow“a chilling collection of supernatural myth and otherworldly horror stories” – sounds a wonderfully dark book to dip into in the winter months.

The Unnamed - Joshua Ferris

I’ve got my lovely copy of Joshua Ferris’ The Unnamed from Thomas of My Porch Blog when he came for a visit, as well as Man Booker Longlisted The Slap which I bought for my book group at work and am currently reading.

The Slap - Christos Tsiolkis

Last, but not least I got a delightful parcel in the post – a little something for the party season ahead…

Party dress

Phew… that concludes todays update. Better go and update the TBR now!

Have you read any of the above books and if so which would you recommend? What exciting post have you had recently (bookish or otherwise)?

22 responses to “Recent Arrivals

  1. Fab dress!! I love it! You’ll look fab in that, Polly.

    Look at all those books! nothing makes me drool more than piles of lovely books. I am reading the Agatha Raisin one right now and I have a few more of those at home too. Look forward to seeing your reviews.

  2. Beautiful dress!! I have read Empress Orchid and I really enjoyed it!

  3. I love that dress!
    I am reading The Unnamed at mo, started great but I’ve got a bit stuck half way through and have read two other books while I think about whether I can be arsed to finish it!

    • Thanks Tracey it’s jolly isn’t it?! Uh oh, I hope I don’t get stuck on The Unnamed. Have heard mixed reviews, I wonder which way I will go!

  4. I loved Stone’s Fall and Never Let Me go. I hope that you do too! The Slap is very ‘different’ so I look forward to seeing what you make of that one. Enjoy your new books 🙂

    • Hi Jackie! Really looking forward to reading both of those. The Slap is ‘different’ isn’t it… looking forward to finding out how it pans out!

  5. That looks like enough reading to keep you busy. I’ve never read an Agatha Raisin, but Simon S. certainly has me putting it on my watch list for the future. Love the dress!

    • Definitly a pile of books to keep me busy! Yes I’m looking forward to reading Agatha Raisin – for a bit of lighthearted fun 🙂

  6. Pretty, pretty dress!

    I read The Second Sex at university and it is not easy reading – I advise a chapter at a time.

    I really must read Ishiguro and Simon S recommended Strangers to me last year but I haven’t read it yet although I did buy copy on the strength of the rec (story of my life). Perhaps all three for the Japanese Lit Challenge V?

    I want to read The Slap too and will be interested in you thoughts on The Lessons.

    • 🙂 I can’t resist pretty dresses! Yes, I had that feeling about The Second Sex. Feeling a bit tentative about it!

  7. Ha lovely to see some of my books going to a lovely new home. Fabulous dress too Pol! I really really like the sound of ‘Sing Sorrow Sorrow’!

  8. Rarely do dresses catch my eye more than books–bit that one is a stunner! And I read the Second Sex in college. My memory is that it was a book I was glad to be discussing with other people. I came away feeling that I had learned a great deal, but unsure if I could have done it on my own. Good luck!

    • Glad you like it! I think I will struggle to find anyone else to read The Second Sex with, but perhaps I can tackle it in stages…hmm….!

  9. Oooh, I’ve got A Pale View of Hills to read for the Japanese Lit Challenge too. And I’ve been dying to read The Second Sex but am very frightened of the size and it looks difficult. But I love Beauvoir:) And that dress is lovely!

    • Hi Sakura! Good idea to read A Pale View for JLC4, I may just copy you there. TSS is a leetle bit daunting isn’t it?!

  10. Great stash and I love that dress. Red is my fave colour.

    I recently finished Never Let Me Go and I was really surprised by it (in a good way) since I was still quite unspoiled. I read Empress Orchid a few years ago and I remember searching for more history on China and the real Empress Orchid because I was so fascinated.

    • Yes, I’m hoping to remain unspoiled too by not reading too many reviews! Definitely need to pick that one up soon. Liking your glowing comment about Empress Orchid – it makes me more curious!

  11. Lovely lovely christmas dress. I have a copy of the second sex but it’s mostly for intimidating people with, although one day I hope to read it…

    • Thank you Hayley! Ha, I love the idea of you keeping The Second Sex to hand for purposes of intimidation. The only person that I’m intimidating with it at the moment is myself I think!

Leave a Reply

