Novel Insights’ November Review

It’s been a little while since I did a monthly round-up mostly due to forgetfulness! November was a varied reading month at Novel Insights with classic gothic vampire tale, a Pullitzer winner about a hermaphrodite, autobiographical fiction set in the 30’s and an ultra-modern duo of Brett Easton Ellis’s earliest and most recent books.

Here are November’s reads in order of enjoyment:

Middlesex, by Jeffrey Eugenides

Review coming soon…

 

 

 

Our Spoons Came From Woolworths, by Barbara Comyns (7 out of 10)

“…an offbeat and bittersweet book.”




Less Than Zero, by Brett Easton Ellis (7 out of 10)

Less Than Zero, by Brett Easton Ellis“Read if you want an introduction to Ellis, or you liked American Psycho and want to see what came before.”



Carmilla, by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu (7 out of 10)

Carmilla, by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu“Carmilla is definitely worth reading if you are at all interested in the gothic genre …it has the right balance between being melodramatic in parts and also well written.”


 

Imperial Bedrooms, by Brett Easton Ellis (6 out of 10)

Imperial Bedrooms, by Brett Easton Ellis“I’m glad that I read Less Than Zero first, because I think the context adds an extra layer of meaning that makes reading Imperial Bedrooms more interesting.”



If On A Winter’s Night A Traveller, by Italo Calvino (6 out of 10)

If on a Winter's Night a Traveller, by Italo Calvino“Is it a ‘novel’ I wonder or is it an experiment of sorts?”



 

Have you read any of the above? What are your favourite books of the month?

8 responses to “Novel Insights’ November Review

  1. you seem to have had a prodictive month got calvino penciled in for January for my Italian reading month ,all the best stu

  2. Ooh, hope you find it interesting. A very curious book!

  3. I haven’t read any of those- my favourite book of November was The Shadow of the Wind- simplu brilliant!

    • I’ve never even managed to get a copy of that but I’ve heard such good things about it. One to look out for!

  4. You read some great books in November! Our Spoons came from Woolworth’s looks good, and I can’t believe I still haven’t read Middlesex 😀
    I think my favorite read in November was Oryx and Crake.

    • Ah interesting – that’s the new Atwood isn’t it? I shall have to pop over and read your review!

      • Hopefully I’ll get to review it before the year is out 😀 Oryx and Crake is actually older but maybe you’re thinking of The Year of the Flood? That’s a sort of sequel to Ory and Crake.

      • Whoops! Ah I see. Good thing I know now so I don’t end up picking them up in the wrong order in future…!

Leave a Reply

