Green Carnation Prize Readings

On Thursday, I went along to hear readings of books shortlisted for the Green Carnation prize.

The three authors reading were:

Unfortunately, two authors were not able to make it but we toasted them in their absence!

I enjoyed all the readings, although I have to mention that I laughed out loud and was rather charmed by Christopher Fowler’s self-depreciating style in his reading from Paperboy.

I have to also admit to being distracted by some amusingly titled books (one in particular about how to deal with being overly-well endowed!) on the shelves at venue. Gay’s The Word which counts Sarah Waters and Ali Smith amongst it’s supporters is a gem of an independent bookshop tucked away near Russell Square Tube. I was particularly impressed by it’s clever categorisation of books which makes it perfect for casual browsers to discover something new.

All in all I had a really enjoyable evening and will be very much looking forward to finding out who the final winner is!

6 responses to “Green Carnation Prize Readings

  1. I was sorry not to make it but it sounds like it was a successful night!

    Paperboy interests me especially the “self-deprecating humour” description. I must go to Gay’s the Word to discover some new GLBT books.

    I’m attending a reading by one of the Green Carnation longlisted authors next week, which should be fun.

    • It was lovely – very busy in fact! Looking forward to hearing what you thought of the GC longlister you’re reading…

  2. Glad you enjoyed it Polly, I couldnt actually believe there wasnt room for everyone, it was bonkers. Was lovely to have your support as always!

  3. It sounds like it was a lovely evening! And the bookshop itself sounds really cool 🙂

Leave a Reply

