Incoming books!

Latest additions to the stacks at Novel Insights…

Kraken, China Mieville
Nourishment, Gerard Woodward
Less Than Zero, Bret Easton Ellis
Imperial Bedrooms, Bret Easton Ellis

If On A Winter’s Night A Traveller, Italo Calvino
Power Presentationn, Patsy Rodenburg
Self Portraits: Fictions, Frederic Tuten
Original Sins: A Novel of Slavery and Freedom, Peg Kingman

Another eight books for the TBR! Have you read any of these books?

15 responses to “Incoming books!

  1. Wow, I have heard of none of these books, and only one of the authors!

  2. The Calvino can only be described as seriously wierd, and either you will feel that he pulls it off (in which case you will love it), or that he doesn’t (in which case you will hate it). It is not just a book within a book, but many books within a book. Personally, I preferred “The Dumas Club”, but it’s undeniably a book which everyone should at least try to read once. Good luck!

  3. I agree with Pursewarden: I think you’ll either love or hate the Calvino. I don’t like structurally gimmicky novels and have grown very impatient with them, but I read ‘If On A Winter’s Night A Traveller’ so long ago that I found it new and fascinating. I loved it. I hope you enjoy it, too.

    • Thanks Joan, well I think it helps to be prepared almost for something a bit structurally wierd so thanks to you and Pursewarden for that! Glad you enjoyed it and fingers crossed I will too.

  4. I loved the Italo Calvino, it’s fantastic; I think it’s one of those books where you just have to let it flow and go with it. Like Joan, I hate gimmicky books, but I read this recently and I don’t think it fell into the trap of being structure-but-no-substance which invariably winds me up. I recommend it!

    • I’m glad you thought so. I’m still making my mind up but I’m moving towards liking it more than not if you know what I mean!

  5. Too bad there’s no novellas in there because the November Novella Challenge is back! I hope you’ll sign up again!

    http://novembernovellachallenge.blogspot.com/

    • I forgot, but yes brilliant I’m sure that I can squeeze a novella into November! Thanks for reminding me, and OMG I love your buttons.

  6. I ve not long got a older version calvino if i travel ,loved invisible cities when I read it ,all the best stu oh great selection of other books

    • Hi Stu, the way I’m going with this, I’ll definitely be interested in Invisible Cities I think. Thanks for popping by!

  7. I loved Less Than Zero, so I’m looking forward to your thoughts on that one. I still nee to read Imperial Bedrooms, which I’ve heard is really good. Great piles of books!

    • I think that Less Than Zero has to be next on my TBR. I’m feeling like it’s the kind of book I’m up for at the moment and then I can read Imperial Bedrooms straight afterwards. Thanks for coming to have a peek at my stack!

  8. LOVE Less Than Zero, but haven’t heard great things about Imperial Bedrooms, so haven’t read that one yet, be interested to see what you make of them both though!

Leave a Reply

