An easier way to update and share my TBR!

I found this smart little post on 25 Hour Books’ Blog about how to create a form to enable you to easily add to your TBR using Google Docs forms.

A flash of inspiration hit me…

If I create a spreadsheet in Google Docs and link to it on my blog then my changes will automatically update on my blog instantly and easily!

Spreadsheet format also gives me a number of benefits:

  • I can quickly count how many books are on the list
  • I can easily filter or sort my list by author name or title
  • I could add categories (such as ‘Classic Book’, ‘Reading Soon’)
  • I could even add all the books I have read and own!
  • Erm… probably best if I stop there

So now if you want to sneak a peak at the never-ending TBR (long) you can find the new list under My Book Lists tab at the top of the page.

 

What book list obsession looks like

 

Does anyone else have any time saving tips for organising a book blog?

Who else has a book spreadsheet? I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one in this community of bibliophiles!

18 responses to “An easier way to update and share my TBR!

  1. Oh, that is a great idea.. I should do that sometime.But I admit I’m a bit afraid to share how many unread books I own with the world..

  2. I keep a book spreadsheet, but only privately. It’s actually an Excel workbook with several spreadsheets, organised roughly by genres, plus a master list of all my books and a TBR (owned) list.

    I have been keeping a TBR (not owned) list on my blog and adding to it whenever I find a book I would like to read, but this sounds like a quicker method than the one I am using. Only thing is, the way I am doing it now, I can link to the review that made me want to read it in the first place. I’ll have to see if that can be done in Google docs.

  3. That is scarily organised! Well done.

    I don’t think I’d ever be that organised – I actually like the fact I can browse my wobbly stacks and discover books I didn’t know I had 🙂

    • Haha, I’m a bit of a list geek although sometimes I think organisation is another form of procrastination…

      I do like browsing, but my books are all over the place so I think this will help me have a ‘virtual shelf’!

  4. I like being surprised by my TBR. No, actually I’m a little scared to count how many unread books I have… I’m impressed by very organised people and think it’s really cool:)

  5. I keep a spreadsheet for books read that is quite detailed. I like having all the information in one place, and although it may take awhile to add new info to it it’s worth it in the end.

  6. Like Charlie, I also keep a spreadsheet of booksn read. I write the information in a hardbound journal as I finish each book, and at the end of each month I enter it all into a spreadsheet. Once the spreadsheet is set up just the way you want it, entering all the information about the books read each month takes about 15 minutes. It enables me to produce detailed reports on my reading in the course of the year.

    • That is super duper organised – you have a whole process going on. Thanks so much for checking out how to add links to spreadsheets in Google Docs!

  7. What an awesome idea! I adore lists, & organisation, & excel so I might just have to steal this idea off you. Ta!

  8. I’m so glad you liked the post! I love to organize and this form really makes my life A LOT easier (at least when it comes to book blogging lol). I hope you like your new TBR form!

    • Hi Tara. THanks for stopping by! I thought your idea was brilliant, and I’m finding it so much easier to manage this way 🙂

  9. Oh this is great! I keep a numbered list in Word that I paste into a page on my blog, but it’s very time-consuming and I have to do it twice for another one… In fact, I have so many different book lists – including ones in Excel for books read per year – I get swamped! I’ll have to look into this.

Leave a Reply

