Feeling Romantic?

While Mills and Boon isn’t my usual reading material, I have to admit that I do love the fabulously kitsch covers and titles of some of their books. I also think that despite the fact that some people can be snobbish about romance novels, it is at the end of the day, simply another genre – like crime or historical fiction that allows people to escape from the humdrum of day to day life into another world. It takes a lot of skill to sweep a reader away – or off their feet in Mills & Boon-Land!

I also have to say that I have noticed that Mills and Boon have obviously hired some brilliant people to do their marketing and publicity. They have made a bunch of free eBooks available for people to try (here), and have re-vamped their image into a whole new level of pink and swirly loveliness. I also really like the idea of their ‘Romance is Not Dead‘ website and ‘New Voices’ competition which invites aspiring romance writers to submit a first chapter for the chance to get their book published.

Actually, this post is mostly a shameless plug for my very good friend, and new blogger Rose Roberts. She has submitted her first chapter of The Sheikh’s Virgin Racing Bride (“a passionate love story about an unworldly but determined woman wanting to make her mark in horse racing”) to New Voices and I think it’s really rather good.

Horses, exotic handsome men – what’s not to like? If you have a spare moment please do pop over and take a look here. If you like it maybe even vote!

I think it is quite inspiring…

Have you ever tried reading a romance novel? What kind of books are your guilty pleasure?

5 responses to “Feeling Romantic?

  1. I’m with you, I think that romance is a genre, just like any other. I am not so keen on the Mills and Boon style as an everyday read, but once in a while I will indulge.
    Posted a spot in my blog about ‘The Joan Hessayon Award’ and Mills and Boon, a few weeks back and whilst doing the research I was staggered by some of the stats.
    A Mills and Boon is sold somewhere in the world every 7 seconds and 25% of all M&B sold, are sold to men.
    They can’t all be wrong and M&B are still going strong!

  2. I think the love of reading and taking time out to read are more important than what you read. Everyone has different tastes in well, everything- why bag someone for their tastes? I’m guilty of enjoying many genres that others don’t like- guilty pleasure is chick lits where I know the girl will find true love with the sweet guy after falling for the awful one but, hey it chills me out after work. I’ve tried M&B, some of the retro ones are quite good!
    I hope your friend does well 🙂

  3. That is a beautiful new icon. And who doesn’t love a publisher who releases a few books for free to try? I have to admit I’m not a romance reader though..

  4. I’m not much of a reader of romance now, but as a teenager I devoured them. I even wrote to Mills & Boon asking for their new writers pack, thinking that I could dash off a novel of my own. I eventually did, but it wasn’t particularly Mills & Boon (and remains unpublished – maybe I should have followed the M&B conventions after all!).

    • I imagine it’s actually quite tough to write a M&B and to get the formula right whilst bringing something new to it.

Leave a Reply

