New arrivals and other bookish bits

I’ve not been reading very much this weekend at all. I’ve been a bit under the weather and strangely not quite in the mood to pick up a book. However I have managed to watch nearly all the episodes of series six of Desperate Housewives which I think is a good achievement…

The other day I treated myself to a copy of On The Beach by Nevil Shute with my Waterstones vouchers (a thoughtful gift from work for my birthday). It was my choice for the latest Riverside Readers book group selection – I really have been wanting to read something else by Shute after loving A Town Like Alice, and thought it would be good for discussion too. Simon also increased my TBR by giving me a copy of Lost World, by Patricia Melo – a Brazillian novel translated into English.

Speaking of Riverside Readers, I’m going to be hosting the London based book group temporarily while founding members Simon and Kim are away, which I’m very excited about! I have to admit that there were a few slightly concerned looks at the mention of spreadsheets (oops!) at last weeks discussion of The Lonely Londoners (I tend to go into organisational mode very easily!) but hopefully I’ll do a decent job of looking after things for a while…

On another topic, whilst I was in Waterstones, I spotted this book group journal:

At first I thought ‘that’s a nice idea’, and then I thought – why not just use a notebook?

And finally, if you haven’t already – check out the longlist for the Green Carnation Prize (a new book prize honouring books written by gay men).

Hope everyone had a lovely weekend!

14 responses to “New arrivals and other bookish bits

  1. love the shute cover very pretty ,also the book group book seems a lot for a not book I ve found some nice moleskine like ones at sainsbury for third of price of moleskine ,all the best stu

  2. Like Winston, I love the Shute cover. I read an abridged version of A Town called Alice once (only found out once I had finished it that it was abridged) and I’d love to read more.

    • Glad you enjoyed A Town Like Alice. I was really taken aback actually by how much I liked it. Probably had something to do with the heroine – what a role model!

  3. Hope you feel better soon!

    I think that about journals too, because flicking through them I always find there’s not enough space to write and there often isn’t space given to the kind of concepts you want to write about. Have fun running the book group, I love the cover of the Shute!

  4. Ooh, spreadsheets! 😀

    I love the Shute cover, and basically all the vintage editions! I started reading this book and it was very interesting, but I wasn’t in the mood for apokalypse lit and then had to return it to the library. Maybe I’ll try A Town Like Alice next.

    • I know, the Vintage editions are really lovely aren’t they?! Hmm… I hope that we make it further. Don’t let that put you off A Town Like Alice though as it’s supposed to be quite different!

  5. I need to send the video of you enlightening us on your coice to all the other Riverside Readers. Great choice though Pol as I have wanted to try Shute for ages!

  6. Preeeeetty journal. Probably pointless, as you say, but definitely pretty.

  7. I have a copy of On the Beach I picked up for all of $2 sitting on my shelves. This was before I read Alice and am now patting myself proudly on the back for snatching up the Shutes!

Leave a Reply

