Back from holiday!

I’m back from my holiday, feeling rested and happy, if slightly pink around the nose from making the most of the sunshine on my last day.

What a wonderful couple of weeks. My boyfriend and I stayed first in Columbo, Sri Lanka where my friend was getting married at the beautiful Galle Face hotel, right on the sea front. It’s a colonial-style building which I can just imagine being the setting for an Agatha Christie mystery. Sitting on the veranda, looking past swaying palm trees to the shimmering sea, I enjoyed sipping a gin and tonic or a king coconut and crunching on hot, salted cashew nuts. When the wind picks up and the sea becomes stormy, the atmosphere is a little spooky, like something Daphne DuMaurier would pen a story about.

Galle Face Hotel

And of course, being a bookaholic, I checked the hotel’s ‘Distinguished Overseas Visitors’ list for authors and noticed a couple of literary types – Edward Lear and George Bernard Shaw (Pygmalion is one of my favourite plays!).

I also visited the Elephant Orphanage in Pinnewela for the second time. When I went to Sri Lanka a couple of years back it was one of my favourite experiences. I missed out a bit this time as I was feeling a slightly unwell, but still had a fab view of the elephants washing themselves and playing in the river. It never ceases to amaze me how sociable these animals are and how tender they are with the little elephants.

Elephant orphanage Pinnewela, Sri Lanka

Elephant orphanage Pinnewela, Sri Lanka

On our last evening I took a walk with my boyfriend along the promenade outside the hotel where people were flying colourful kites, eating from the food stalls and school kids were chasing waves.

Galle Face Promenade

Beach outside Galle Face

The perfect setting for an elegant wedding and an exotic break away from the day to day of London life.

Our second week was spent in Phuket, Thailand. We mostly enjoying eating, lolling around at our hotel, running out to the beach in between tropical rain showers and I caught up on my reading!

Alan walking on the beach at Phuket, Thailand

View of the sea, Phuket, Thailand.

Coconut, squid and red curry, Phuket, Thailand.

Ah… back to the real world!

I’ll be posting reviews of my holiday reads, once I get settled back into the swing of the things. In the meantime, anyone want to hazard a guess at how many books I finished reading on my trip?

19 responses to “Back from holiday!

  1. Welcome back! It looks like you had a great time on holiday. I would guess that you finished 3 books. Am I close?

  2. Welcome home! I’m going to be optimistic and say you read five books… and I can’t wait to find out what they were 🙂 Lovely photos!

  3. It looks like you had a lovely holiday but quite a busy one so I am going to guess 4 books! Love the pics of the elephants!

  4. Wow! Great photos! It looks as though you had a wonderful time. I’m going to guess 2 books as I think you were too busy enjoying yourself to read much 🙂

    • Jackie – glad you like them! Brilliant time, thank you – I shall let you know how many I read in my next post 🙂

  5. Fab pictures, Polly. Looks like you had a great time – my parents have been to Sri Lanka and loved it.

    I’m going to guess at 4 books as I think you would have been too busy during the first week.

  6. I am going to say 4.5 books were what you read (so you finished four, if its five am technically right too haha)… and am not cheating as I havent caught up with you yet!

    The holiday looks amazing I need to try and find some pictures of the bride on farcebook if there are any!

    • Ha. Is that what we’re calling facebook now or is it a totally apt typo (like spreadsh*te) 🙂 ?

      It was fab thanks. I think Nerisa might have posted a couple of pics for you to see.

  7. Welcome back! You’re holiday looks amazing, especially the elephant orphanage.

    I’ll hazard a guess at 3.5 books (if you took Couples with you then it would have definitely eaten up a lot of your reading time!)

    • Thanks Claire – it’s good to be back but sad to have the holiday end…

      I was a bit naughty and didn’t get a copy of Couples before I went. Sorry I missed that one as it looked really interesting.

  8. Hello! Welcome back. Sounds like you had a great time. Hope you ate lots of nice things. Btw, did you know that Arthur C. Clarke used to stay at the Galle Face Hotel every time he had to finish writing a book? I’m guessing you read 4 books.

  9. I will guess at 5 books.

    Just starting out on this book blogging.

  10. Pingback: Holiday Reads | Novel Insights

  11. Pingback: Brixton Beach, by Roma Tearne | Novel Insights

Leave a Reply

