My TBR & Japanese Literature Challenge 4!

Thank you to everyone who helped me choose books lately as I had a rather large influx of books (here, and here)!

I’ve now added My Book Lists page which has my TBR (short) and, when I type it up, will also have my TBR (long) as well the wonderful recommendations from other bloggers for Forgotten Books by Well-Loved Children’s Authors.

The Japanese Literature Challenge 4

If you take a look at the TBR (short) you’ll also see it has one of the books that I plan to read for Dolce Belezza’s Japanese Literature Challenge 4. If you want to join and are short of suggestions then Belezza has put up a brilliant post with a nice long list to choose from. To take part you should read at least one item of Japanese Literature between now and January 2011. I’m being conservative this year to begin with and starting with the following two books. I do love Japanese Literature so it might end up being more!

The first book is Goodbye Madame Butterfly, by Sumie Kawakami which Bellezza kindly sent me after I won it in a competition for JLC3. It’s a collection of essays about “Sex, Marriage and the Modern Japanese Woman” It’s a bit of a different choice for me, I tend to be drawn towards fiction but a quick skim suggests that it will be interesting reading.

I also plan to read Soseki Natsume’s I am a Cat which Claire of Paperback Reader recommended. A cat-lover myself, this chronical of wayward kitten who spends his time observing human behaviour sounds quirky, funny and right up my street.

So now that I’m all sorted with my lists and choices, I’m off to actually go and do some reading. Happy Sunday everyone.

Are you planning to join The Japanese Literature Challenge? What’s next on your TBR?

12 responses to “My TBR & Japanese Literature Challenge 4!

  1. Pingback: Literature » My TBR & Japanese Literature Challenge 4! « Novel Insights

  2. I am in the process of compiling a (conservative also) list for JLC4 but there are so many tempting books that I would love to fit in! I should make more time for Japanese lit in my reading time as I love it so.

    • novelinsights

      There are so many tempting options aren’t there!? I’m just going on what I actually have in the house already to be on the safe side 🙂

  3. Oh brilliant idea – this would be a good excuse for me to at the very least finish the Murakamis that are floating around the place which i’m yet to start – and I will enjoy having a peruse of the rest of the list, too. I know very little about Japanese literature and it’s always good to have the chance to explore a new world! Your choices sound great.

    • novelinsights

      Hi Jane – Well enjoy your Murakamis! I love his writing. I think Sputnik Sweetheart is a really beautiful book.

  4. I have that copy of I am a Cat; I got it when I was living in Japan, oh, 6, 7 years ago. Still haven’t read it! It just keeps slipping.

    I was going to recommend Natsuo Kirino but I see her name in your authors reviewed list there. I read Out and loved it and got her other two books, but I haven’t got around to them yet. I’m a big fan of Murakami too – first read him when I was living in Japan too 🙂

    I have a copy of Mme Butterfly left over from a uni course I ended up not taking – it’s incredibly slim, I think it’s a play? (Yeah haven’t read it yet either! Just never got around to it.) Does it have anything to do with this book of essays?

    • novelinsights

      Oh wow you lived in Japan! I want last year and it was an amazing place to visit. Do you know any Japanese? Kirino is brilliant – Out is gruesome but fantastic. I’m surprised that Mme Butterfly is so slim. I only know of it as an opera (which I’ve never seen sadly) so expected it to be a chunky book. Not sure if it has anything to do with the essays… will let you know when I’ve read them!

      • I spoke a bit, enough to get by but not enough to have a real conversation 😦 I’ve forgotten a lot, sad to say. I’m not very good at learning languages! My younger brother’s there now, he studied the language at uni and is now pretty fluent.

        Opera – yes, not play! Knew it was something like that.

  5. Oooh, I’m so excited about the JLC4 too! I also have I am a Cat on my list but I’m still in two minds about whether I should attempt it this year…

  6. I’m usually drawn to fiction, too, but this Madame Butterfly book looks fascinating. My mother read it and loved it, so I think we’re in for a good read. Thanks for such a lovely post about the challenge!

    • novelinsights

      Thanks for dropping by Bellezza – I just can’t believe that time has flown so quickly and it’s time for JLC again!

  7. I am in the process of reading I AM A CAT as well. I am going slowly and it’s quite amusing. I am NOT a pet person, so I’m glad for that.

Leave a Reply

