Have you read any of these?

I received a couple of lovely book parcels lately and wanted some advice on which ones to bump up the TBR. If you’ve read any of these or heard particularly good things about them do let me know.

  • Snow Blind, by Robert Sabbag
  • The Crimson Petal and the White, by Michel Faber
  • The Death of Bunny Munro, by Nick Cave
  • Pretty Monsters, by Kelly Link
  • Serena, by Ron Rash

I have to say I’m quite drawn to Pretty Monsters and The Crimson Petal and the White but I’d love to hear people’s recommendations!

26 responses to “Have you read any of these?

  1. I think you got one of the same packages as me! 🙂 I am drawn to Serena for some reason and may pick that up soon. Crimson Petal is supposed to be a great read but I don’t think I have time for something that big just now.

    Love to see what you pick 🙂

    • Very possibly 🙂 Serena did sound really interesting. I definitely want to read Crimson Petal but it’s so long and I’m reading the Passage so will probably be looking for something a bit brief after that!

  2. I can’t believe they re-released The Death of Bunny Munro with a kid on the cover! That seems so misleading, as it is a very dark and disturbing novel about sex, death and grief – not quite as family friendly and light as the child on the cover suggests!

    I wrote a review of it a few months ago, but there are minor spoilers there.

    • Hi Jess! I can see your point although We Need to Talk About Kevin also has a kid (also disturbing!). Will hop over and take a look at review to help me make up my mind 🙂

  3. Were this from Canongate by any chance? 😉

    Crimson Petal & The White is absolutely brilliant — it’s about a prostitute in Victorian London. Despite its hefty size I raced through my copy in about three days. Mind you, I was lying by a swimming pool at the time.

    The Kelly Link book is also very good. Lots of lovely quirky and eccentric fairy stories.

    And Nick Cave’s is crude but very very funny, and also kind of tragic too.

    • Ha, how did you guess?! I am looking forward to Crimson Petal. I think that Simon has made sensible point and I might take it on holiday with me so that I can enjoy really getting into it (like you at the swimming pool!) Thanks for the tip on Link – I’m definitely thinking I will read that one soon as it might add variety. I am also quite intrigued by Bunny Munro too as I like Dark / Tragic / Odd books!

  4. Crimson Petal and the White is brilliant- please bump it up your list!

    • Well that was a straightforward / outright recommendation!! I think I shall take that one on holiday in August so that I can really enjoy getting into it. Cheers for dropping by to help out 🙂

  5. Crimson Petal is a fantastic read! I would definitely suggest bumping it up in your TBR list. And that Pretty Monsters book looks rather interesting,too!

  6. I read Crimson and the White years ago and felt a bit meh about it, but it was pre-book blogging so I can’t tell you much more than that. 😉

    I’ve read one of Kelly Link’s stories and loved it: I keep meaning to get her collection! So I’d say start there.

    • Ah interesting… not so keen then! Well I think Kelly Link’s stories are doing pretty well in this bunch of comments so I think they might be good to pick up soon for a bit of a random read.

  7. The only one of these that I’ve read is Crimson Petal, and I wasn’t crazy about it, I’m sorry to say. I’m fussy about my Victoriana and I just didn’t think it *felt* enough like a Victorian novel. It seemed to me like Faber was mostly excited that he could write a Victorian novel that was overtly seedy, unlike the work of those actual “repressed” Victorians! (Waters and Cox do a much better job navigating that ground, in my opinion. They’re more daring than a Victorian could be, but they don’t revel in it the way Faber did.) However, I’ll freely admit that it was entertaining, and I know that lots of people love it, as the comment above attest!

    • Ooh, interesting. I think I’m going to have to read this anyway to find out what all the fuss is about but it will come on holiday with me in a couple of months.

  8. I was iffy too about Crimson Petal but I think I’m in the minority here. Pretty Monsters looks amazing and I want to read it!

    • Isn’t it a gorgeous copy and it sounds so interesting. Will let you know how I get on when it gets read!!

  9. I’ve haven’t read any of them but Pretty Monsters has a very eye catching cover!

    • It does, doesn’t it?! I’m so shallow but that definitely drew me to it, then I read the cover and it sounded even more intriguing.

  10. Pingback: Simon’s Bookish Bits #24 « Savidge Reads

  11. Hmmm I wonder which publisher sent you these hahahahaha.

    The Crimson Petal and The White is amazing, but is also huge so maybe read that one when you go to Sri Lanka as it is perfect for long plane journeys. I predict you will love the heroine of the novel. In fact I need to read The Apple and see what happened to them all.

    I might read Pretty Monsters soon on and off as its a collection, another book I imagine is very you!

    • Hahaha, yes I know… 🙂 I have decided due to your very sensible advice to take The Crimson Petal on holiday, and also Wolf Hall along with a couple of ‘Sri Lanka’ books. Definitely want to read the Kelly Link book soon though.

  12. I’ve read Kelly Link’s Magic for Beginners, and loved it. I’m actually set to read Pretty Monsters soon–it’s been years since I read link, and this was long in coming.

    Whatever your decision, enjoy!

    • Sasha, thanks for your thoughts. Perhaps I will love Pretty Monsters and then graduate to Magic for Beginners!

  13. I read Serena and really liked it. Pretty Monsters is also fun.

    • Serena does sound good. Did you like it or LOVE it? 🙂 I will hop over and see if you posted a review. Cheers for stopping by!

  14. Pingback: My TBR & Japanese Literature Challenge 4! « Novel Insights

Leave a Reply

