A weekend in the wood & pictures of bookish destinations

Simon (Savidge Reads), Myself and our lovely friend Michelle had a brilliant break away last weekend so I thought I’d post some pictures of our trip which include some destinations linked to well-known books. If you’ve been by Savidge Reads lately you might have seen his post too.

We stayed in a rather fabulous log cabin situated in Tilford Woods. What a pretty location:

Saturday was a beautiful sunny day so we decided to explore some nearby bookish locations including Waverley Abbey which English Heritage have said was the inspiration for Sir Walter Scott’s historical novel Waverley. Published in 1814 Waverley is thought to be the first in the historical novel genre. The abbey itself was built in 1128 and it’s ruins rise up out of a pretty English meadow. Heres Michelle admiring the ancient arches:

On the way home on Sunday we couldn’t resist stopping by the picturesque village of Chawton to see guess what…?

Jane Austen’s house!

Here’s the desk where she apparantly penned some of her most famous novels:

I was quite taken with this illustration for a Victorian edition of Pride and Prejudice. Publishers take note, this would be an awesome cover for a new edition!

With the sunshine, the reading and relaxing time (did I mention there was a hot tub?!) and lots of nice food and drink it was a totally wonderful weekend. Oh and the icing on the cake…look what I found!

What bookish locations or picturesque weekend getaways have you discovered lately that you would recommend?

12 responses to “A weekend in the wood & pictures of bookish destinations

  1. Looks like you guys had a wonderful time away from it all. Waverly Abbey looks suitably gothic and moody and Jane Austen’s house must have been inspiring. Reminds me of when I visited Haworth.

  2. Oh wow, it looks like you had a wonderful time! What lovely photos. No wonder Jane Austen was so inspired to write her books with a home like that – and yes that copy of P&P is gorgeous!

    I live less than an hour away from Haworth in Yorkshire where Brontes lived and I love going to their village and house and thinking of them writing together in that little front room.

    What luck finding a four leaf clover too!

    • Yes I can imagine it being so peaceful. Haworth is lovely, have you done the walk up to Top Withins? Very evocative of Wuthering Heights.

  3. Ooh Jane Austen’s house! That’d be great to see. I’ve only been to Alexandre Dumas’ chateau outside Paris – actually, that reminds me, I thought I read that he was credited with starting historical fiction? Or maybe I’m thinking of Ivanhoe – yes, that’s probably it.

    My mum, freak that she is, used to find 4-leaf clovers all the time. She gave me a couple. She’s good at finding everything except books I’ve leant her!!

    • Ooh, I would loooove to do a bookish jaunt in France. What a good excuse to go 🙂 I did get that fact from good old Wikipedia so it may be dubious!!

  4. Looks like it was a great weekend. I love the picture of Waverly Abbey, it looks like an interesting place to visit. The cover art of that edition of Pride and Prejudice is so gorgeous! And how lucky of you to find a four leaf clover.

    • It was lucky wasn’t it. I just spotted it out of the corner of my eye rather than searching. I think the nicest things can happen when you’re not looking out for them!

  5. Looks like you all had a great time. Also enjoyed seeing the pics on Simon’s blog. I’ll have to add your getaway to my list of bookish destinations (Hay-on-wye is very high [hey, that rhymes!] on my list). The most famous bookish destination I’ve been to is Hanging Rock which consists of, to my great surprise, literally a giant hanging rock. It was lovely though.

  6. One that I recommend is Jack London State Park in Glen Ellen California just an hour or so north of San Francisco. The park used to be Jack London’s ranch where he lived for much of his life and where is wife lived for several decades after his death. On weekends you can see the ranch house where Jack London lived and wrote many of his novels as well as the house his wife lived in after his death which is now a museum.

    You can also see their gravesites and the ruin of the Wolf House, Jack London’s dream house which burned to the ground the day before he was to move into it. It’s a wonderful ruin and must have been a fabulous house.

    The park itself is quite nice, a good place for a picnic, and there are several short hikes you can do there.

    • novelinsights

      You know, I’ve never read any Jack London. I went to California last year and loved it so if I get to go again I would like to check that out. What a sad story that his dream house burned down before he got to move in 😦

  7. Pingback: Peyton Place by Grace Metalious « Novel Insights

Leave a Reply

