Bookish Catch-up & The Vet’s Daughter Readalong

It’s been a very busy week and an even busier weekend which means that Novel Insights has been a little bit quiet lately! So now I’m recuperating with my laptop in front of some very bank holiday Monday viewing (Mary Poppins) and a cup of Chamomile tea.

I had an absolutely brilliant weekend with girlfriends who came up from Newcastle to see Sex and The City 2, although after one too many cocktails and all the excitement I have to admit to being a bit tired out! We packed lots in including a trip to the wonderful Grace Kelly exhibition at the V&A to see her gorgeous outfits and accessories (how inspiring!).

Grace Kelly by Erwin Blumenfeld 1955

We also got a bit of culture at the National Portrait gallery and I even spotted the below bookish portraits before being told to stop taking photographs (oops…).

Mervyn Laurence Peake by Mervyn Laurence Peake (1932)

Beatrix Potter by Delmar Banner (1948)

James Joyce by Jacques-Emile Blanche 1935

… and a bit of a heroine of mine:

Emmeline Pankhurst by Georgina Agnes Brackenbury 1927

I love the National Portrait Gallery and it’s definitely worth a visit if you enjoy people spotting. We rounded up the weekend with a cup of tea in the Laduree cafe at Harrods.

On another note, if you’ve popped by Stuck in a Book blog lately you may have seen that Simon T, Claire (Paperback Reader) and myself are doing a sort of informal readalong of The Vet’s Daughter by Barbara Comyns this week.

I’m starting that today and can’t wait to get stuck in. Do join us if you have a copy!

What did you get up to this weekend?

Emmeline Pankhurst

by Georgina Agnes Brackenbury

6 responses to “Bookish Catch-up & The Vet’s Daughter Readalong

  1. I read The Vet’s Daughter several years ago and enjoyed it. It was an interesting window on its times. Not a great book, but one that I’m glad I read. I’ll be interested in hearing what you both have to say about it.

    • novelinsights

      How funny – I thought it was an excellent book! I can see how it wouldn’t be everyone’s cup of tea but I’d be interested to know what you thought wasn’t so great?

  2. Ooooh sounds like a lovely weekend, looks like you are going to be having a run of them… lol! Have you seen Pankhursts grave? Its a beautiful tomb in Brompton Cemetery.

  3. Sounds like a splendid weekend, I miss London! I am so looking forward to reading what you all make of the Vet’s Daughter. I have read it a couple of times before but am going to try to read something related instead.
    Happy reading and thanks for sharing
    Hannah

Leave a Reply

