Latest Additions

the book pile is burgeoning after a couple of lovely parcels in the post and some nice donations from Simon (Savidge Reads).

I’m very excited about the next choice for our book group – Red April, by Santiago Roncagliolo, and also Stone in a Landslide, by Maria Barbal, a novella translated from the original Spanish. there’s also a book by Henning Mankell, an author I keep hearing good things about.

Can you spot any books you’ve read or got on your TBR in the pictures below?


    Die a Little, by Megan Abbott
    Major Benjy, by Guy Fraser Sampson
    Ruth, by Elizabeth Gaskell
    Nothing Sacred, by Angela Carter
    Faceless Killers, by Henning Mankell
    Stone in a Landslide, by Maria Barbal

    Cotter’s England, by Christina Stead
    The Last Pleasure Garden, by Lee Jackson
    Birds of America, by Lorrie Moore
    Red April, by Santiago Roncagliolo

    The Radleys, by Matt Haig

26 responses to “Latest Additions

  1. What a lot of books! I have Cotter’s England and Ruth on my TBR! and I’ve read The Birds of America which is very good. Lorrie Moore is brilliant writer.

    • novelinsights

      I’ve never read any Lorrie Moore, but looking forward to reading the book – great to hear that you enjoyed it.

  2. farmlanebooks

    I haven’t read any of them, but I hope to read Faceless Killers soon and am looking forward to Red April.

  3. I really enjoyed Major Benjy, but there’s not much point reading it til you’ve read the Mapp & Lucia series by EF Benson (which are fab!)

    And that Elizabeth Gaskell is one of hers I haven’t read… but I remember enjoying her other novels.

    • novelinsights

      I couldn’t read it until I’d read at least the first couple of Mapp & Lucia books. It might be a bit daft but I do much prefer reading things in order. I haven’t read any Elizabeth Gaskell but looking forward to doing so!

  4. I’ve started Stone in a Landslide and have a Henning Mankell somewhere although I’m not sure it’s this one.

    • novelinsights

      I just finished Stone in a Landslide yesterday and enjoyed it very much – will be interested to hear your thoughts when you do!

  5. I’ve got The Radleys and anything Lorrie Moore on my pile. The Radleys didn’t appeal to me at all at first but it’s slowly growing on me. Just hope it’s as tongue in cheek as it promises to be!

    • novelinsights

      Ooh, so that means you’re part way through? Let me know when you’ve posted your thoughts!

      • Nope, haven’t read it at all! Just mean that the premise didn’t appeal to me to begin with, but now I’m intrigued. Noticed the embargo on the press release – does that mean we have to be quiet for now too?

      • novelinsights

        I think we do 🙂 My lips are sealed!

  6. Wonderful pile of books! 🙂 I haven´t read any of these books, but I really want to try Angela Carter´s works. Happy reading!

  7. Oh I got The Stone in the Landslide too recently (it seems lots of people are getting that good marketing for Peirene unless it becomes the dreaded overkill) and am looking forward to it after thinking Beside The Sea was utterly devastating and marvellous all in one. High hopes for this too.

    Also very excited about Red April.

    Glad you enjoyed the small selection I popped in your direction lol!

    • novelinsights

      Have just finished Stone in the Landslide – great book! Agree with you though, best if there’s not overkill. V.V. excited about Red April. Thanks for your substantial contribution to my book pile!

  8. Heard The Radleys is meant to be quite good… Sorry, couldn’t resist that. The perils of ego-surfing…

    No, seriously, I’d plump for the Angela Carter lol.

    Matt Haig

    • novelinsights

      Hello Matt,

      It probably won’t be an either or thing 🙂 Am looking forward to reading The Radleys and will pop my thoughts online when I do.

      Thank you for stopping by!

      • novelinsights

        …and P.S. Congratulations on having Alfonso Cuaron produce a film version of your book. That is just a little bit exciting!!

  9. I really enjoyed Faceless Killers, I think that Henning Mankell is brilliant!

  10. Wowzers! That’s a lot of books!

    I have The Radleys and Stone in a Landslide on their way to me too so we’ll be able to compare notes 🙂

    I have just finished an Elizabeth Gaskell (North and South) and I really want to read Ruth too.

    Happy reading, Polly!

    • novelinsights

      Tell me about it! Another two arrived yesterday as well … Looking forward to hearing what you thought of Stone in a Landslide – my review is scheduled for the 10th so keep your eyes peeled!

  11. I’m looking forward to your review of “Stone in a Landslide”, it’s a book I’m very curious about. I don’t know any of the other books, but I hope you enjoy them.

  12. Pingback: My TBR & Japanese Literature Challenge 4! « Novel Insights

Leave a Reply

