Some inherited books & an unseasonal ‘secret Santa’

Last week my other half was helping a friend out with a house clearance and came back with two little presents for me. One was a UK first edition of In Cold Blood by Truman Capote (which is one of my favourite books ever) and the other was a Daphne du Maurier, The Infernal World of Branwell Bronte which I had very nearly purchased for myself the weekend I visited Keel Row Books. Delighted I ask if there were any more that we could rescue, and ended up with a lovely little pile:

The Aneid, Virgil

Mary Anne, by Daphne du Maurier

Weland: Smith of the Gods, by Ursula Synge

Madame de Pompadour, by Nancy Mitford

In Cold Blood, by Truman Capote

The Infernal World of Branwell Bronte, by Daphne DuMaurier

It made me feel a bit sad when I thought about the lady who they had belonged to and how her things had just been discarded, but I suppose it is one of the unfortunate facts of life that when you leave this life, the value of the possessions that you once held dear do not always translate to other people. However I cheered myself up with the thought that her treasured books would now live with someone else who would enjoy them. I also thought, given her reading tastes that she might have been quite the kindred spirit!

On another note, I had a delightful time at the bloggers meet (organised by the wonderful Simon T of Stuck In a Book). It is so curious to meet people in person that you feel you know well through their online personalities! We also had a little ‘secret Santa’ style book-swap and I received this fabulous Virago – The Vet’s Daughterby Barbara Comyns who I thought I’d never heard of but then realised that I asked for one of her other books for Christmas (Our Spoons Came from Woolworths)!

I am so looking forward to reading this and the others in the pile I haven’t before!

Have you had any unexpected book arrivals? Have you read The Vet’s Daughter?

14 responses to “Some inherited books & an unseasonal ‘secret Santa’

  1. Look at those gorgeous old books! *drools*

    Lucky you!

  2. Thank you for the mention, always nice to be called wonderful 😉 And what a lovely pile of old books, none of which I have read! But, yes, I agree – I always find it sad when someone’s books have been put out to pasture, as it were. But then I think that I am rescuing some of them, and how pleased they’d be to know they’d gone to a book-lover. I hope mine will end up in appreciative hands when I’m gone!

    I’m looking forward to our Vet’s Daughter read-along – maybe at the beginning of next month?

    • novelinsights

      Yes please, that would be great timing for me.

      I feel the same way and wonder if I should pass all mine on before I pop my clogs when that time seems to be coming!

  3. It’s lovely you’ve been able to save this women’s books. My mother was throwing some away, and I had to rescue them because they are out of print and very good books. I like to think I’m helping the author, not letting them be forgotten.

  4. Nice! A very nice stack you’ve got yourself there. How sad that these books were going to be thrown out. It makes me feel the same way when I see excellent books selling for $2 (good for my wallet though!) after all the exertion the authors have put in. The Nancy Mitford title sounds interesting.

    • novelinsights

      Yes I’m excited to read some Mitford! I don’t worry too much about books going for cheap but I think that’s just because I’m greedy! 🙂

  5. Oooh looking forward to your thoughts on The Infernal World of BB. It’s been on my tbr list for awhile now. 🙂

    • novelinsights

      Ha, the rate mine is going it will probably be the same! I think I might have to re jig it a bit though!!

  6. Well as you know I was green with envy at those first editions, especially the Du Mauriers, and am considering not speaking to you again! Hahaha. I have the very same edition of the Mitford, how bizarre!!!!

    • novelinsights

      That’s a bit random! Well I did think it might make you a little envious especially as they were £0! 😛

  7. That is a wonderful haul. Mitford’s Madame de Pompadour and du Maurier’s book on Branwell look amazing (as do all the others actually) as I’ve never come across them before. There’s something about getting books that belonged to others that make you imagine what they’ve seen and where they’ve been, all the history they’ve witnessed.

    • novelinsights

      That’s exactly how I feel. It makes me wonder what the person was like, what phase of life they were in when they bought these books and what they thought.

Leave a Reply

