A Literary Vote

Never mind whether you can judge a book by its cover, my question today is; can you judge a politician by his reading material?

This article from the Guardian is a lighthearted look at the reading preferences of the three UK party leaders, and concludes that from a book-lover’s point of view, Liberal Democrat leader Nick Clegg wins hands-down.

Personally, I couldn’t agree more. To me the fact that he enjoys reading J.M. Coetzee, Samuel Beckett and playing Scrabble says he’s smart, forward-thinking, culturally aware and interesting!

I wouldn’t normally get political on my blog but as it is book-related, today Novel Insights can be my own little Speaker’s Corner.

What about your literary tastes? Perhaps you’re more of a literary Gordon Brown (who cited Tennyson and Wordsworth as favourites) or a David Cameron (who enjoys Robert Graves, Goodbye to All That and whose desert island read would be Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s River Cottage Cookbook).

Whoever you want to win, if you’re in the UK and eligible – don’t forget to excercise your right to vote!

12 responses to “A Literary Vote

  1. Susi (The Book Affair)

    I’m not in the UK, but my boyfriend lives in Wales, so I get all the news about polls, election etc. I’m going to show the Guardian article to him. I bet he’s going to like Nick Clegg even more after that. And I don’t mind a little politics on your blog – voting is important! 🙂

  2. novelinsights

    Susi! Thanks, I appreciate that and feel the same way. Whatever happens at least this year, people have been getting passionate about politics 🙂

  3. That’s interesting. I’d like to say yes, but I’m hesitant to judge a politician by his taste in books, or music for that matter.

    I agree with Susi though, I think elections are important and there’s nothing wrong with featuring something political at your blog because of it.

    • novelinsights

      Oh absolutely, you can’t just judge anyone by their reading material, music tastes or whatever else but is fun to get an insight into what is going on in their minds!

  4. Great post! I am so interested to nosey at what anyone reads, never mind the men who could be running the country this time tomorrow.

    Gordon’s choices sound like he doesn’t actually read at all and just remembers some poets from school. Surely if he reads books he could come up with a fiction writer he liked?

    River Cottage? On a desert island????????

    Nick has the best taste by far. And he’s the best looking 😉

    Now, with only hours to go, I am still undecided. Seriously! I think maybe I should stop thinking about it so much and go with my gut. Thing is, my gut is a swinging pendulum this week.

    Feel free to try and sway me, Polly. I’m all ears.

    • novelinsights

      Hahaha, you know what I thought exactly the same thing… what IS the point of a cookery book on a desert island except to torture yourself?!

      I’m glad you like the post. I don’t dare try too much to sway people as I think as long as a vote is thoughtful it’s valid 🙂

      Having said that, I think it’s pretty clear where my sentiments lie and I’m a ‘vote with your heart’ girl not persuaded by scare stories of what a hung parliament might mean especially as two big financial companies have said it doesn’t worry them. Of course for me the bookish preferences are really more of a confirmation of what I already felt but it’s a fun way to get insight into what people think about!

  5. I am scheduling a little something possibly for later about politicians and what they read which involves a link to something rather brilliant and yet bonkers waterstones has done!

  6. Well I love JM Coetzee (yes, based on only one book!) and Scrabble so I like the sound of this Clegg bloke! I’ve never been fond of Tennyson or Wordsworth, I must say. (And maybe I just like the idea of being “smart, forward-thinking, culturally aware and interesting”!!)

    They’ve been talking about your election on CBC radio lately. Everyone seems to want to get rid of Brown. I don’t know the issues but I’m sure it’s time for a change?

  7. What a great article – thanks for the link… brilliantly insightful!

  8. I can’t believe that Brown has read any Tennyson or Wordsworth since school…

Leave a Reply

