Novel Insights’ April Review

April has been more sunshine than showers this year, and it’s also been a great reading month for me.

My top three favourite reads in April were:

The Passion, by Jeanette Winterson – 9/10

Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit, by Jeanette Winterson 8/10

Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit - book review

The Weight of a Mustard Seed, by Wendell Stevenson 7.5/10

Other books I read in March:

The Castle of Otranto, by Horace Walpole – 5/10

Solar, by Ian McEwan – 7/10

Goodbye Mr Chips, by James Hilton – 7/10

The Dispossessed, by Ursula Le Guin – review pending

What book did you most enjoy reading in April?


12 responses to “Novel Insights’ April Review

  1. Definitely Cutting for Stone by Verghese. I read Solar as well, which made an impact because it was the first McEwan I ever read. I’m hoping to like his other works even better though.

    • novelinsights

      Ah yes, I saw your review of Cutting for Stone. Would really like to get my hands on a copy now. I enjoyed your review of Solar, and glad it makes you want to read more McEwan – I really do think you will like them even more.

  2. Wow, good month for Jeanette Winterson! I read Oranges over 20 years ago when I was a teenager and remember really enjoying it but I think it was a lot to do with that it was about lesbians which is always intreguing to a teen I reckon. I’m sure I would take something completely different from it if I were to read it again now.

    • novelinsights

      🙂 Yes it was the same for me and Lady Chatterly’s Lover with the intrigue bit, although it left me a little disappointed I seem to remember. Definitely a good month for Winterson – she’s my latest discovery!

      • Ha ha, that reminds me of other books that had the same effect on me – The L Shaped Room by Lynne Reid Banks about a single pregnant woman (I remember being SO curious about this!) and I also remember sneaking a copy of my parents Sidney Sheldon to my room – what an eye-opener that was! 😉

      • novelinsights

        How funny, I’ve just put up a post for tomorrow where I mention the L-Shaped Room!

  3. A toss up between The Book Thief by Markus Zusak and The Return by Victoria Hislop. I loved Zusak’s originality but I think the engrossing quality of The Return is more memorable for me.

    I think I need to read Solar, it’s everywhere at the moment, online and off.

    • novelinsights

      I loved The Book Thief, and I have The Island waiting on my shelf to be read. Hope you enjoy Solar if you get a copy.

  4. Looks like you had a great reading month 🙂

    I´m glad you enjoyed Jeanette Winterson´s works so much, I´ll be reading her PowerBook in June for my Queer lit class.

    My favorites this month were the second Flavia book and Cider with Rosie.

    • novelinsights

      I’d be interested to know how you get on with PowerBook. I would definitely like to read Cider with Rosie.

  5. I still want to read Oranges are not the only fruit!

    Erm, my favourite April read was The Ask by Sam Lipsyte. In fact, he’s jumped up to one of my favourite writers lists!

    Happy May reading!

    • novelinsights

      Thanks Elena, happy May reading to you too! Never heard of Sam Lipsyte but will keep my eyes peeled – he seems to have made a big impression on you.

Leave a Reply

