Things I Learn From Books #4

Solipsism, in Philosophy is an extreme form of scepticism which denies the possibility of any knowledge other than of one’s own existence.

Word referenced in: Solar, by Ian McEwan, page 169. Definition from thefreedictionary.com.

“Like many clever men who prize objectivity, he was a solpsist at heart, and in his heart was a nugget of ice, which Melissa sensed and intended to melt.”

2 responses to “Things I Learn From Books #4

  1. The Book Affair

    I have heard that word before, but my tongue always ties itself into knots when I try to pronounce it. I guess that’s why I don’t use it. I probably should throw it into conversation from time to time, just to look really smart.

    Btw, I had better introduce myself first. My name is Susi and I’ve been a lurker on your blog for quite a while now. I’ve only recently decided to start a blog of my own and to participate actively in the community. I really hope I’ll be able to keep up with all of you, you’re so active… 🙂

    • Hello Susi! So glad you’ve decided to come out of hiding 🙂 I comment but I also lurk alot as it is hard to keep up with all the conversations.

      I haven’t used it myself yet but I might dare myself to use it in some really inappropriate context today lol.

Leave a Reply

