More books!

A visit to Savidge Reads Towers to deliver birthday books yesterday resulted in my coming away with almost as many as I brought around! Apart from I am the Messenger by Marcus Zusak which I had delivered for my next book group, all the others were bequeathed by my lovely bookish friend. I am very excited about reading Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit after finishing Jeanette Winterson’s The Passion yesterday and totally loving it.

Have you read any of these books?

  • Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit by Jeanette Winterson
  • I Am The Messenger by Marcus Zusak
  • Lucia Rising by E.F. Benson
  • Meet Jack Rosenblum by Natasha Solomons

What new books have arrived at your house lately?

18 responses to “More books!

  1. Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit is excellent, I love Jeanette Winterson, her wrtiting is so original.

  2. That would be writing!

  3. You’re so lucky to have a friend who loves books as much as you do! I have to make do with boring my friends to death with bookish geekiness. Thanks goodness for the internet where there are loads of me :O

    • Ah, I do sometimes forget that my other friends are not so obsessed as me and go on a bit though. I am lucky to be able to share that world though!!

  4. I tried Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit a few months back, it having come highly recommended by so many other bloggers. Winterson’s writing is definitely original, but I did have trouble getting in to the book and ultimately set it aside. Meet Jack Rosenblum is on my TBR list, so I’ll be interested to hear what you think!

    • That’s interesting, perhaps it was one of those cases where expectations were too high? I’ll let you know about MJR when I’ve had a chance to read it!

  5. I agree with Dot that Winterson is very original – and I think that Oranges is probably my favourite of her books.

  6. Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit! What a book! Hope you enjoy it as much as I did. What a great little pile you received! I just finished The Book Thief and will have to add another Zusak to my TBR list, since I loved, loved, loved The Book Thief. Perhaps I’ll wait to read your review of I Am The Messenger. Cheers!!

    • Ah, well the book group for I Am The Messenger is at the start of May, so if you wait until then you’ll have multiple reviews to choose from!

  7. Ooh I love Zusak!! and Winterson, even though I’ve only read one book of hers – Boating for Beginners, which was great. I have a couple more on my shelf to read. I haven’t heard of the other two.

    I just posted my own little list.

    • Ooh, I shall have to take a look at your treasures too. Glad there seems to be so many people out there who love Winterson. I’m converted!

  8. Glad you liked the treats hee hee, I am only sorry that I promised The Slap to my Gran (the book not an actual slap hee hee) as you could ahev had that too! Oh how excited am I about the first of the books you brought round… more on them tomorrow at mine.

  9. I´ve only read The Messenger of your list but I loved it, found it to be just as great as The Book Thief. Happy reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

