I’m a bit excited…

*Update: As this is an old post, you can read my review of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo here!

…because I’ve just started The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson and have the feeling I’m going to be gripped.

I’ve had it since Christmas, prompted by Mad Bibliophile’s very persuasive review and wanted to get started but had other books I wanted to read just as much.

I keep seeing the film posters this week, taunting me…

So that was it. Got to read the book before the movie!

Have you read the book? Are you looking forward to the film?

14 responses to “I’m a bit excited…

  1. farmlanebooks

    I wasn’t a fan of the book, but I am looking forward to watching the film. I think I’ll wait for the DVD to come out though.

    • novelinsights

      I’ve just re-read your review and had a bit of a giggle. I have a feeling that the things that bothered you may not bother me, and I am wary of all the praise so am hoping that my expectations are about right. Perhaps you’ll enjoy the movie more though! I hope it’s good…

  2. I am going to try and read this before the film which weirdly I have suddenly got unexcited about and am not sure why!

    • novelinsights

      Sometimes that just happens. I think I have been getting bombarded with poster images and that’s had a knock on effect!

  3. I loved this book! The first 50 or so pages were a taad slow but after that I couldn’t put the damn thing down! I loved the second in the series too. I tried reading the 3rd and got about 100 pages in but was so disappointed with it that I have shelved it for now.

    Can’t wait to hear what you think!

    • novelinsights

      Great! I’m about 80 pages in and I can see exactly what you mean. The first page was great, then I thought it went a bit slow and now it’s getting gripping… we shall see!

  4. Still haven’t read the book and, because I live under a rock, had no idea there was to be a movie. Looking forward to hearing what you think!

    • novelinsights

      Thank you. If it’s any good then the review should be up soon! I don’t think you live under a rock, the movie is Swedish and I’m guessing it might not be on your radar unless you’re in a place where it’s being heavily marketed (i.e. Central London!)

  5. I was addicted. Out and out guilty pleasure reading, but, oh! Love Lisbeth Salander so much. She is totally cool… did think the second book was better though.

  6. I’m glad to hear you’re liking the book. The names are a bit difficult to begin with. I can’t wait to see the movie! A couple more weeks to wait.

    • The names are a little difficult especially as the Vanger family is big! Thank goodness for the family tree 🙂

  7. Yay – I loved this, faults and all – glad it has got off to a great start for you – enjoy!

  8. Pingback: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson « Novel Insights

Leave a Reply

