World Book Day – Inspiration

Apparantly it’s World Book Day today! It seems that World Book Day is not just a frivolous ‘lets name a day in honour of something’ marketing scam but a UNESCO supported celebration of books with core aim to “encourage children to explore the pleasures of books and reading by providing them with the opportunity to have a book of their own”.

Being an avid reader myself (no really?!) and knowing how important it was to me to be encouraged to read as a kid by a weekly trip to Waterstones with Mum and Dad, I think that this is a a brilliant idea.

It also got me thinking about how I could do my bit to encourage children in my family to read (even more) by giving books when it comes to presents. Here’s the thing, I never know what books are good for certain age groups, so perhaps you have some ideas?

Can you think of a brilliant new book that would be good to give to a very young child?

Any recommendations for a young teenager?

12 responses to “World Book Day – Inspiration

  1. I would nominate The Worst Witch series for younger readers because its fun and quite light (no Deatheaters there) and for teenagers… they have probably devoured Twilight but The Hunger Games is meant to be good!

  2. farmlanebooks

    I’m no good with teenagers, but am a bit of an expert on books for younger children!

    What age is the young child? For the very young (less than 2) I’d recommend one of the That’s Not My’ books by Fiona Watt.

    For 3-5 I recommend Aliens Love Underpants by Claire Freedman, anything by Julia Donaldson and Calm Down Boris by Sam Lloyd.

    • novelinsights

      Thanks Jackie! Great recommendations. I will check out that Aliens Love Underpants which I think would be the right sort of age group…

  3. Funny books are always the best-loved books by my sons. For young children, I recommend SCAREDY SQUIRREL by Melanie Watt. Or CHESTER, also by Melanie Watt. 🙂

    For more serious reading, we love Leo Lionni (maybe Alexander and the Wind-Up Mouse or Swimmy) and Eric Carle (The Mixed-Up Chameleon, especially). Dr Seuss is great too.

    • novelinsights

      Thank you, I will definitely look these up 🙂 These recommendations are great as I wouldn’t usually know where to start!

  4. The kissed that missed, and it’s sequels by David Melling are wonderful bedtime stories for pre-schoolers – he’s a wonderful illustrator/author.

    For a young teenage girl I’d recommend I, Coriander by Sally Gardner, or Patrick Ness’s ‘The knife of never letting go’ as a thought-provoking adventure for boys and girls.

  5. For youngest readers, the Hairy McLairy books by Lynley Dodd are great fun. The pictures are wonderful – dogs and cats, and the stories are simple and in rhyme.

    Teenagers are harder – my two teenage boys enjoyed the Anthony Horowitz “Alex Rider” series. Friends with teenage girls, tend to report to me of much more mature reading, plus books to do with vampires (sorry, can’t remember the authors name).

  6. Junie B. Jones by Barbara Park books are hysterical. I used to read them to my kids when they were younger and sometimes I laughed so hard I had to stop reading.

  7. Well, it is not really intended to be run in conjunction with World Book Day, but I am conducting a giveaway at my book blog. I thought, as a fellow book blogger, you (or your readers) may be interested in the chance to win free books (with a wide range of choices). You may have heard of the Tournament of Books, but, if not, you can read all about it over at my place.

Leave a Reply

