Lovely Loans – Have you read any of these?

I popped into the library yesterday to take back my returns, but in a whimsical mood ended up browsing the shelves and picking out a modest selection of books that seemed interesting.

My stash includes two Persephone books – Saplings by Noel Streatfield and The Victorian Chaise Longue by Margharita Laski as well as the autobiography of Coco Chanel that inspired the film with Audrey Tatou (which I am waiting to see). I also randomly picked up Goodbye Mr Chips by James Hilton which never really crossed my radar. I was persuaded by the assertion on the cover that ‘a short book can be a good book!’ and the fact that, it made me think of Mr Chips from Catchphrase, anyway I digress…

Has anyone read any of these books?

6 responses to “Lovely Loans – Have you read any of these?

  1. I’ve only read The Victorian Chaise-Longue, which is deliciously unsettling; Laski is a superb author and a Persephone favourite of mine. I recommend trying to read The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman (it’s online at Project Gutenberg) as it makes a very interesting comparison to TVCL.

    Saplings is on my TBR as I’ve heard great things and had my copy for some time (Noel Streatfeild wrote Ballet Shoes, which I loved as a child).

    I also want to see Chanel.

    Enjoy!

  2. I’m seeing more and more Persephone books in my library which is great. I loved Victorian Chaise Longue and Saplings. My friend is going to lend me the Coco chanel film so I’m hoping to see that soon!

  3. The only one I’ve read is Saplings, mainly because of Ballet Shoes. I really enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

