Double Trouble

I’ve been having a bit of a blogging blip and I blame it on trying to read two books simultaneously (excuses, excuses…). I wasn’t getting along too well with Mrs Dalloway (which I feel a bit daft about considering it’s modest page count!), so decided to pick up Les Liaisons Dangereuses. The problem being that I get guilt pangs about not having finished Woolf, when I’m reading Laclos and my mind drifts back to the exploits of the Vicomte de Valmont and the Marquise de Merteuil when I’m reading about Clarissa Dalloway. Apparantly I’m not so good at multitasking where reading is concerned!

I’m curious to know… do other people have this problem?
Do you happily pick up one book here and browse another there or do you like me prefer to read one at a time?

9 responses to “Double Trouble

  1. I can read multiple books at the same time, but I notice that it often happens when one book does not satisfy. (Perhaps the same reason why people have multiple partners ;). But I do limit myself to not read more than 3-4 books at the same time.

    • Reading 3-4 books is pretty impressive! I think you’re right about reading more than one when you’re not satisfied with the first…

  2. I’m pretty terrible at reading multiple books at once. One frequently gets put down and never picked up again. The only combination I seem to be able to manage is reading a classic and something modern and lighter at the same time, because that way I can read whichever I’m in the mood for and it can be more difficult to concentrate on a classic in a busy environment, like on the train or something.

  3. Oh I’m glad it’s not just me! Yes I feel as if having to work extra hard to finish the first book or it just won’t happen. Perhaps you’re right – they need to be different types of book.

  4. I used to read several at once, largely because I am both impatient and fickle, which is a deadly combination when it comes to making a commitment to a novel longer than 200 pages. However, those were the days when I had time to read and didn’t have one of those annoying things by the name of a job which audaciously takes up most of the hours of my day, which I would rather spend reading. Nowadays I stick to one book – no more guilt piles of several novels by the bed, no more shortages of book marks, and no more muddles of plots and characters in my head. It is also teaching me to be more patient.

    I have never read Les Liasons Dangereuses but I have wanted to ever since I saw the film when I was about 10, with my risque auntie, who liked to let us do everything our mum didn’t, like watch rude films until past midnight and have caramacs and coke for breakfast. One day I’ll get around to it!

  5. I am fairly rubbish at reading more than one fiction book at once. Oddly at the moment I do have four books on the go. A short novel, a bigger novel am struggling with (so wanted a break from) a non fiction novel and a book of short stories which am reading when havent the brain power to read anything else… oddly its working but I think thats down to the books being very different. The two main fiction ones have such differeing topics.

  6. I wish I could read more than one book at a time but I have tried quite often and failed! I think it makes me feel like I am back at uni when I used to have to get through 5 or 6 books a week!

  7. I always manage at least 2 without getting distracted. I tend to have a lighter book,or one with shorter chapters for travelling, or during the day when I’m reading in shorter chunks, and one for evenings when I can absorb myself in it a bit more. Sometimes I have short stories on he go too, just for when I feel like it! I do find they tend to have to be quite different books though.

  8. I used to end up with stacks of half read books as I tried to multi-task my reading and with life, sleep, work and chores I fell way behind. Now I only read one book at a time to focus my energy. I envy those with the time to multi-read but I get about 30 minutes at the end of the day before I fall asleep to cram in my reading.
    I love Mrs Dalloway – it is on my favourite reads of all time list. I wrote my university thesis on it and have read it so many times, everytime I see something new.

Leave a Reply

