Booking Through Thursday – Gifts

Booking Through Thursday

A weekly meme

Barbara wants to know:

What books did you get for Christmas (or whichever holiday you may have celebrated last month)?

Do you usually ask for books on gift-giving occasions or do you prefer to buy them yourself?

This Christmas I asked my Mum for my Amazon wishlist for Christmas and I got another book-related gift as well! My pictures of Christmas books is here, and includes:

  • The Girl with the Dragon Tatoo
  • Muriel Spark. The Biography
  • I Am a Cat
  • The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas
  • Our Spoons Came from Woolworths
  • The Reader
  • Atticus the Storyteller’s 100 Greek Myths

I love getting books as presents as its one of the gifts I’m more likely to like! Plus it’s nice to get books you wouldn’t necessarily have bought yourself.

Did you get any nice book-related presents for Christmas?

22 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Gifts

  1. Looks like you got some good ones. I’m especially intrigued by the biography of Muriel Sprak – I hope you’ll write a review of it! I generally enjoy biographies, but don’t read that many – not unless I’m really interested in the person :)

    I was a very lucky girl this Christmas! Here is my BTT response.

  2. I’ve heard mixed reviews of Girl with a Dragon Tattoo, but I still want to read it! My books aren’t listed under BTT, but you can see them at The Crowded Leaf.

    • Yes, this is one I’m curious to read anyway despite the hype and the mixed reviews. I’ll hop over and take a look at your stash!

  3. I listened to The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (and The Girl Who Played with Fire) through my audible subscription and enjoyed both. The others I haven’t read. The one entitled, Our Spoons Came From Woolworths, intrigues me! I’ll have to check it out!

  4. That is great that you got what you asked for/wanted. I haven’t really thought of utilizing my Amazon wishlist.. mainly because nothing stays on there for too long – hehe. :)

    Allison
    Well-Read Reviews (My BTT)

  5. I love using the Amazon wishlist!

  6. Some great books there! I hope you enjoy them all!

  7. I read The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas last month and enoyed it. The movie’s good, too.

    Happy Reading :-)

  8. amazon wishlist is very cool. You got a couple books i’ve been meaning to read too!

  9. I only got one which was the Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie collection of short stories… I have one more arriving though that had to be ordered in.

    • One!? Surely not. I’m curious to hear how you get on with that, as my experience of short stories is a bit mixed although Daphers is one that I wasn’t disappointed with.

  10. Using the wishlist is a great idea…I’m like Allison, what I do put there doesn’t stay long! Sounds like you got some great books–enjoy!!
    ~

    http://mywindowswideopen.wordpress.com/2010/01/08/booking-through-thursday/

Leave a Reply

