Seasons Readings!

On Saturday I was having a bit of an overwhelming moment when I realised that I had 100 unread books on my shelves. Thanks to everyone’s help I’ve managed to compile my next 10 reads – my Seasons Readings!

And here they are:

  1. The Moonstone – Wilkie Collins
  2. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society – Mary Ann Shaffer and Anni Barrows
  3. The Shuttle – Frances Hodgeson Burnett
  4. Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil – John Berendt
  5. Peyton Place – Grace Metalious
  6. The Wind-up Bird Chronicle – Haruki Murakami
  7. Disgrace – J.M. Coetzee
  8. I Capture the Castle – Dodie Smith
  9. The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox – Maggie O’Farrell
  10. Heliopolis – James Scudamore

No one actually recommended The Moonstone (sorry!) but I want to read it in time for the next Sensation Sunday, and The Suspicions of Mr Whicher got me all excited about it.

A good thing is that my unread book list now numbers 99 after reading Muriel Spark’s The Finishing School at the weekend (review to follow).

I’m super-excited about my holiday reading list now, and very appreciative of everyone’s thoughts and comments (which I can revisit to choose my next 10).

Seasons Readings everyone!

12 responses to “Seasons Readings!

  1. What fabulous choices! So many good ones… of the 7 I’ve read from your list, I highly recommend the Guernsey book, I Capture the Castle, The Wind-up Bird and The Shuttle. You’ve got a wonderful reading holiday ahead of you.

  2. Good selection, I am going to ask people to pop from my blog to yours on Saturday and give you even more thoughts on your list of 99!!!

    • I’ve just realised that I’ve forgotten Great Expectations! Perhaps I will have to make that number 11 (and read very fast!!)

  3. I’m glad to see The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle made your top ten list, and you don’t be disappointed in The Guernsey Potato Peel Pie and Literary Society unless I’m very much mistaken. I loved that book.

  4. Ooh, I really hope you enjoy I Capture The Castle. It’s such a beautifully written book, and the opening line is one of my favourites.

  5. What a lovely list, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and I Capture the Castle are two of my favourite books, can’t wait to hear what you think of them!

  6. Hey, just came across your blog recently – it’s quite excellent. 😛

    I hope you enjoy Heliopolis by James Scudamore 🙂

  7. Pingback: Book Review – The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox by Maggie O’Farrell « Novel Insights

Leave a Reply

