Booking Through Thursday – Posterity

Booking Through Thursday

A weekly meme.

Q: Do you think any current author is of the same caliber as Dickens, Austen, Bronte, or any of the classic authors? If so, who, and why do you think so? If not, why not? What books from this era might be read 100 years from now?

Thinking about posterity while sitting on my posterior. The simple answer to this weeks question is yes. I’m sure that there are people writing now that will be remembered for their work just as much as Dickens, Austen and the like. Isn’t it a bit silly to imagine that they are in some kind of untouchable bubble of brilliant-ness?

I feel certain that Ian McEwan will be remembered for his beautiful prose as well as stories that can carry you away, particularly Atonement and Enduring Love. Surely Alan Bennett will be remembered for his distinctively human and funny writing style and perhaps Peter Carey too. Those would be my guesses and I’m looking forward to seeing what other people think too.

Which authors do you think will be remembered in years to come?

23 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Posterity

  1. Hmm, I’m not sure about Ian McEwan. He does write beautifully and I haven’t read anything else aside from Atonement so it’s hard to judge. Peter Carey will probably be one of the more memorable Australian writers – although I haven’t read him either! :-p

    • I think you’re right in the sense that just Atonement wouldn’t do it, but it’s from reading a wide range of his writing that I can see the versatility. On Chesil Beach is wonderful and totally different, as is Enduring Love (completely not what I thought it would be!).

  2. Salman Rushdie, Gabriel Garcia Marquez and Toni Morrison.

    • Oh, I couldn’t bear 100 years of solitude (sorry!). I enjoyed Rushdie’s Enchantress of Florence and would like to read more and Toni Morrison is a good pic too.

  3. I think it’s hard to tell. A lot of the authors who we would deem ‘classic’ nowadays weren’t overly popular or critically acclaimed in their own times and were rediscovered and fully appreciated by later generations. Perhaps it will be the authors we least suspect that will become household names?
    I would like to see Michael Cunningham of The Hours fame become considered a classic author. I think Margaret Atwood might stand the test of time as well. It would be interesting to jump forward 100 years and see what is still being read – tastes change so rapidly and I think books have to be very universal in their themes to survive. Stuff that is too culturally relevant or of its time tends to struggle…while they might still be read, they’re not loved.

    • That’s a good thought about whether it might be the ones we least expect that become popular. Alot of people have said Margaret Atwood, and I think universal themes are important as you say.

  4. I am not sure about Ian McEwan, although I did like Enduring Love.

    Booking through Posterity

  5. As I said in my blog…I think Stephen King will be one that going to be remembered for years 🙂

    And yes I do love SK 🙂 but my answer is purely because the way he exist in this book industry

  6. Nice answer. I did not love Enduring Love as I’d hoped I would, but I have Atonement at home waiting to be read and I’m hoping it’s better. Here’s my link: http://thecrowdedleaf.wordpress.com/

    • I hope you enjoy Atonement. I think there are books that people will like and not like of McEwan’s because his writing is quite varied.

  7. I’m not familiar with any of these authors — that gives me more to check out!

    I do agree with Rachel that it just might be authors that aren’t so well known now, though certainly Stephen King can’t help but be known of for years to come. I also agree with universal themes making a classic a classic, but I think it goes beyond that: I think it involves something of truth or beauty that resonates even though language and customs have changed.

  8. I actually dont think i could answer this one (I also completely forgot that it was booking through thursday but this would be too tough) I think Margaret Atwood might be one. That’s given me something to think about whilst I while away hours behind a reception desk hahaha.

    • Lots have people have picked Margaret Atwood! Yes, you’ll have to have a little think to while away the time 🙂

  9. I’ve not read McEwen, but I know he’s been an influence for other writers I enjoy, so I have several of his books on my TBR list. This was such a tough question, but a fun one.

  10. I agree with you about Ian McEwan. I have to think longer about who else I would add…more than the perfect turn of the phrase, I think I’m finding writers who express such interesting ideas. I’m endlessly fascinated with the Japanese authors, as you probably know, and certainly Haruki Murakmi is bound to be significant in years to come as he is now. At least, I hope so.

    • I’m glad that you do! My suggestion was more contentious than I thought it would be I think! I love Murakami too and I think you’re right about him being remembered in the future.

  11. While I love Ian McEwan’s writing (The Cement Garden being a favourite), I’m not convinced he’ll stand the test of time.

    I’d go with Rushdie, and Cormac McCarthy.

    • Hmmm, you see I like Rushdie, but I’ve only read The Enchantress of Florence and although I know it’s not one of his bigger books, and I did enjoy it, I don’t think that one would stand the test of time. I’ve read The Road, and I kind of thought it was good but felt that that premise / story had been done before. As I said though it’s difficult to judge because I’ve only read one book by each author!

Leave a Reply

