A Nice Parcel and a Tuesday Teaser

teasertuesdays31After getting thoroughly annoyed running around the shops at lunchtime trying to post a parcel and failing, I was cheered to see a parcel for me on my desk when I got back to work. Of course it was a book parcel and this time it was one that I ordered from a recommendation (thanks Homefrontgirl!) based on my glowing review of Neville Shute’s A Town Like Alice. I fancied reading more Shute and imagine my delight when the one that Homefrontgirl suggested, Requiem for a Wren was on eBay going cheap – a lovely 1956 copy with a pretty zodiac print cover:

Requiem for a Wren

So even though I haven’t started it yet, I thought I’d do my Tuesday Teaser from this one:

“I was intensly reluctant to open that case. To do so would clearly be an act in opposition to the dead girl’s earnest wish and one should respect the wishes of the dead.”

Page 47, Requiem for a Wren, Neville Shute.

I’m all intrigued now to find out what the case was and whether he did or not!

Has anyone else read Requiem for a Wren? What was your Tuesday Teaser?

12 responses to “A Nice Parcel and a Tuesday Teaser

  1. What a lovely edition. I’ve read a couple of books by Nevil Shue but not thisone, so I’ll be curious to find out your thoughts.

  2. I keep meaning to read Nevil Shute!

  3. Ooooo, i like the sound of this one – and I like the title too!
    Here’s my teaser

  4. I love love love the cover! Is the book in good condition? I’m always wary of buying old hardcovers online because I’ve received some shockers in my time.

  5. I love this teaser!

    Also, yay for finding a book you want on ebay!

  6. That is a fabulous cover agree with Kim on that one. I do think its sometimes nice to get a delightful older cover, as you have possibly seen when I suddenly get jealous of your covers… like now really! That teaser has made me want to read it!

  7. Hope you enjoy the book. All I can ever find is paperback versions of this title . Looks like you’ve found a treasure.

Leave a Reply

