Booking Through Thursday – Recent Enjoyable

Booking Through Thursday

Q: What’s the most enjoyable, most fun, most just-darn-entertaining book you’ve read recently?

(Mind you, this doesn’t necessarily mean funny, since we covered that already. Just … GOOD.)

This is a tough one as I’ve read lots of enjoyable books recently, including Child 44 and A Town Like Alice, but if I had to choose I would say it was Alan Bennett’s The Uncommon Reader. It’s a totally charming and very funny story about how the Queen of England discovers a passion for reading and how it changes her life. For a very little book, it had me waxing lyrical about it here.

6 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Recent Enjoyable

  1. I liked The Uncommon Reader. It made me smile. Especially the idea of the queen in a pub quiz, and her comment about Harry Potter.

  2. I’ve read your review for that. Sounds so lovely, I’m on the hunt for one now!

  3. I absolutely loved The Uncommon Reader!

  4. It is indeed a fabulous book as is Child 44, am looking forward to your thoughts on A Town Called Alice!

  5. That was a great book – The Uncommon Reader. 🙂

Leave a Reply

