The Time Traveller’s Wife Movie – Flop or Fantastic Fantasy?

ttWA little belated blog about The Time Traveller’s Wife movie which I saw last Wednesday. Some thoughts for anyone who’s also read the book and wants to know whether it’s worth a trip to the cinema.

Having read very mixed reviews of the film on movies.com and in various newspapers I was pretty dubious about going to see it. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger is one of my all time favourite books, and after being invited to go see the film I was worried that worried that I might be thoroughly p***** off by it being an awful rendition. I have to say that the trailer didn’t make me feel any more confident as it pitches it as just another slushy rom-com albeit with a quirky storyline. I agreed to go on condition that it was a 2 for 1 deal on Orange Wednesday and gave it the benefit of the doubt.

Going in with such low expectations, I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The actors were like-able and convincing (although I didn’t like the child version of Henry for some reason, thankfully he’s only in it momentarily!) so they went a long way to conveying the emotional journey that you take in the book. Also you get to see Eric Bana naked quite a lot which is a huge bonus for any female watchers! I read the novel a couple of years ago so I can’t remember the precise storyline, although I could tell that the film does diverge from the plot a little bit. However, I don’t think it did so enough to make any TTW readers really mad. And as us bookish types know, movies rarely live up to the standards of the book they are derived from.

I do think that the film will appeal mainly to female watches whereas I believe that the novel has wider appeal, and also I think that it might actually be of benefit to have read the book as you’ve already been convinced by the unlikely idea of time-travelling being a genetic anomaly.

I’m not going to go into lots of details as I don’t want to spoil it for anyone (especially if they haven’t read it) but suffice to say the key elements were there and it was very moving. I had a bit of a cry and heard lots of sniffles in the cinema!

And if you haven’t read the book yet, why not?! The fact that The Time Travelers Wife - Audrey Nifeneggerit has a 4.5* rating on Amazon from more than 900 reviews  should convince you to push it up your TBR list.

6 responses to “The Time Traveller’s Wife Movie – Flop or Fantastic Fantasy?

  1. I have to say I really liked this film, I didn’t love it but definately liked it a lot. I think with a book like this, which is one of my all time fav’s, a movie was never going to compare. I don’t think you could fit all of that book into a movie.

    • I think you’re right, it’s a very complex idea to project on to the big screen. Surprisingly better than I thought it was though!

  2. I thought it was fantastic too! I was very worried that they would ruin it, but I think they did a very good job. I had a little cry too!

    • Glad you enjoyed it. I did like it, but I’m glad I read the book first as you alot more from that and I think it makes the movie almost easier to understand! A nice opportunity to re-visit the story 🙂

  3. In some aspects of the film, it is excellent, but overall the film did not met my high expectation as the book did. The film ending is not touchy compared to the ending in the book. The character of the old lady friend of Henry, Kimy was not explored in the film, including the relationship of Gomez and Clare which is also interesting.

    • I think I was lucky as I saw the movie quite a while after reading the book. I remembered less so was not so annoyed by the details. I know what you mean though and I completely agree that it doesn’t live up to the book which was so moving.

Leave a Reply

