Dolce Bellezza’s Japanese Literature Challenge 3

Belatedly I’ve decided to join Dolce Bellezza‘s Japanese Literature Challenge as I have read quite a few Japanese novels and enjoyed them. The ones that I have read have been a bit off-beat, or even downright strange. This is something I understand a little more in the context of Japanese culture having visited the country on my travels a few months ago. Of course I mean strange in a good way – unique, stretching, often a little surreal and fascinating!

The novel that springs to mind that I’d like to read is Out by Natsuo Kirino as i found Grotesque, by the same author really interesting. However I thought I’d put it out there to see if other people have any different suggestions. I’ve read quite a bit of Haruki Murakami (A Wild Sheep Chase, The Wind-up Bird Chronicle, Kafka on the Shore) and Natsuo Kirino’s Out as mentioned.

Has anyone read any novels by Japanese writers lately that they might recommend?

8 responses to “Dolce Bellezza’s Japanese Literature Challenge 3

  1. Glad to hear you are participating in the Japanese Literature challenge!

    I’m also planning on reading Out; Norwegian Wood by Murakami; Strangers by Taichi Yamada (Simon recommended it); I am a Cat by Soseki Natsume; Asleep by Banana Yoshimoto and anything else that undoubtedly catches my eye!

  2. Blooming heck, you don’t do things by halves Claire! Banana Yoshimoto, I’ve never heard of that author, and I may have to read ‘I am a Cat’ just for the title… 🙂

  3. It’s a little ambitious, true, but I can’t resist Japanese literature. I am a Cat has been on my shelf for a while and I’m a cat-lover so it’s a must for me. You’ll probably recognise the Banana Yoshimoto covers is you see them; I’ve only read Kitchen, which is quirky.

  4. This sentence of yours: “Of course I mean strange in a good way – unique, stretching, often a little surreal and fascinating!” is the most exciting thing I find about this genre. I had no idea, until I began the challenge three years ago, what a joy it would be to read such literature! I’m very glad you decided to participate. Welcome!

  5. Happy Birthday petal! Hope you are having a lovely day… On a blog note, I have to say if I wasnt reading the Man Booker Long List and then having a Sensational September I would be doing this like a shot!

  6. Pingback: Wimbledon Book Fest 2009 « Novel Insights

Leave a Reply

