Booking Through Thursday – Recent Best

Q: What’s the best book you’ve read recently?

A: My recent best book was Mister Pip by Lloyd Jones which I described as ‘the one that snuck up on me‘ in my previous post. That description says it all. Until about the third quarter it was just a pleasant if very well written read, and then my impression really changed. I think an book that can surprise and change your perspective like that is pretty special.

14 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Recent Best

  1. I love a book that surprises me. I’ll have to check this one out!

  2. I agree – a book that can surprise you like that definitely qualifies as a special one.

  3. I’ve heard similar things about this, about the sneaking up bit. It’s on my list. If only I could get to that part in the stack…

  4. Sounds intriguing! It was hard for me to pick just one, so I did a top five 🙂 Here’s my BTT.

  5. Ooh intriguing! I love books that surprise me 🙂

  6. This sounds good – I’ll have to check it out.

  7. I didn’t do the post today because unfortunately I don’t have the best book I’ve read in the past couple of months.
    I remember having read ‘Mister Pip’ last year and really liking it. It’s a sad story but well worth reading.

    • That’s a shame! I hope you find a best book soon. Perhaps it should be ‘best of a bad lot’! It is a sad novel, but I suppose for me that adds to the depth, I like books that are a bit dark.

  8. This is one of those books I really want to read. I read The Book Of Fame earlier on this year, and was blown away by the writing, although the ‘story’ didn’t really get me – it’s about the first All Blacks tour.

    • Hmm… that wouldn’t be one I would think to read either! I’ll take a look at your review and see what you liked about it! You should definitely read Mr Pip.

Leave a Reply

