Booking Through Thursday – Recent Worst

Q: What’s the worst book you’ve read recently?

A: My most recent ‘worst’ book is Sunnyside, by Glen David Gold which to be fair I’m still reading. Please note it’s not a ‘bad’ book at all. It’s very well written and original, it’s just that it’s a bit surreal for me and hefty enough in combination with that to make me not feel like picking it up very often. I guess I’m feeling as if it’s not going to be worth the time investment.

19 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Recent Worst

  1. Haven’t read that one yet….maybe I better avoid it 🙂

    • Well, maybe it just wasn’t for me so I wouldn’t want to put you off completely but maybe one to pick up in a bookshop and read the first chapter first 😉

  2. Interesting view point, though if its proving that much of a chore give it up. Life’s too short not to enjoy what your reading. I can’t read you Linwood review as I dont want it to give anything away, but promise will come back when have read it!

  3. That feeling can be the death of a book. It happens with my reads often.

    You’ll find mine here.

    • Yes i think it might be the death of this one. If it’s got great reveiws then i might persevere but am starting to think about giving it up…

  4. Once I start dreading picking up a book, I know that it’s time to put it down! 🙂

  5. First time hearing about this book — hope it turns out well.

  6. Didn’t hear of this one until you mentioned it. Sometimes I find it easier to just abandon the book and devote your time to something more worthwhile.

    http://lilly-readingextravaganza.blogspot.com/2009/08/btt-recently-worst.html

  7. It just stinks when you don’t even feel like picking up the book you’re reading. I LOVE the can’t-put-it-down feeling you get from some books 🙂

    I chose The Reader by Bernhard Schlink as my most recent BAD read. You can check out my thoughts here.

    • It’s frustrating isn’t it?! I don’t mind if I think it’s going to be worth it but I’m not sure about this. I’m interested in the Reader, I’ll take a look at your thoughts!

  8. I think that one would be out of my normal comfort zone…

  9. My worst is Orson Scott Card’s Treasure Box, which I might not even bother to finish.

Leave a Reply

