Tracey Emin – a favourite book…

Each Tuesday London’s Southbank Centre runs ‘Text Tracey Tuesday’ where you can ask artist Tracey Emin any question you like and she’ll respond if she feels like it!

Tell me something beautiful

A patchwork quilt made in collaboration with pupils at Ecclesbourne primary school in Islington in 2000

Not everyone likes Emin’s work but I’m attracted both by how personal her pieces are, how she uses words in her art to send messages, and also because many of them are crafted with textiles (e.g. the infamous tent and her quilts). If you read this blog regularly you’ll know I like a bit of knitting.

I couldn’t resist asking her the following bookish question of course…

And much to my delight, Tracey responded…

Text Tracey Emin - A Favourite BookI read Madame Bovary a few years ago on holiday and can empathise with this comment. I’d expected to find a new heroine in Gustave Flaubert’s novel but was instead found a selfish, and permanently discontented woman. On the other hand it is a fascinating and beautifully written cautionary tale.

Anyway, just thought I would share with my fellow book-lovers!

If you’re interested, The Text Tracey Tuesday page on Facebook here.

15 responses to “Tracey Emin – a favourite book…

  1. How exciting! I remember reading Madame Bovary and disliking her intensely. It pretty much put me off Flaubert’s novels. But I’ve kept my copy as I feel I need to re-read it at some point since it seems to be a favourite of many.

    • Yes, I was quite annoyed by her – in fact I remember saying to Simon ‘what a b****’ in the days before I eloquently expressed myself in book reviews 🙂

  2. Love that idea for the quilt, may have to steal it to use with my class this year. There can never be enough beautiful things shared with one another…As to Madame Bovary, what a wonderful book, exactly as you said to show us what not to do! It’s always reminded me of the perils of selfishness and discontent, not to mention adultery.

  3. Oo, nice to get a reply! I have this; haven’t read it.

    • novelinsights

      I was chuffed that I did get a reply! I wonder what you would make of Mme B. Not sure if you would like much….

  4. Hey, polly. That’s amazing. Love tracey emin. Madame Bovary is one of my most favourite books! It’s the only book that has ever made me cry (for her poor husband!). 🙂 xxx

    • novelinsights

      Hello Lovely! I think you actually recommended it to me 🙂 Actually I thought of you when she said that because I know you love TE and Mme B!

  5. I never read Madame Bovary, but it’s on my TBR.

  6. This is unbelievably cool. I’ve still not read Madame Bovary but really want to as you think she’s a big bitch and my Gran thought she was a ‘malicious calculting slut’ haha she sounds fabulous.

    • Hahaha, well I thought she would be fabulous, however she isn’t really but the book is very good. She’s not fabulous in an evil way like Lydia Gwilt in Armadale sadly. Maybe I should re-read and we can do a readalong some day…

  7. How cool, Polly!! I quite like Ms Emin, although I realise she’s not everyone’s cup of tea. I keep meaning to visit her exhibition at the Hayward. I have a copy of Madame Bovary lying around here somewhere; I should dig it out for a read.

Leave a comment