Venice: A literary list

At the beginning of January I put up a post about my wonderful Christmas present – a trip to Venice, and after I asked other bibliophiles for their recommendations of what to read on holiday, I was nearly as excited about my final choices as the trip itself! Thank you everyone who helped out with my holiday list!

I couldn’t reduce the list to anything less than five, but as they are mostly novellas or short stories. Here they are:

Don’t Look Now & Other Stories – Daphne Du Maurier (Review here)

Death in Venice – Thomas Mann (Review here)

Death a la Fenice – Donna Leon

The Haunted Hotel – Wilkie Collins (Review here)

The Passion – Jeanette Winters (Review here)

16 responses to “Venice: A literary list

  1. I have The Passion on my never ending TBR pile and had no idea that it was set in Venice. I am just going to add another book into the mix which if you don’t take or get or read before I may think you are mad, or madder. Miss Garnett’s Angel by Salley Vickers is AMAZING. Kimbofo recommended it to me just as a great read and it is sooooooo evocative of Venice its untrue. You will love it as its all about art and sculpture in parts too!

  2. Ooh, I will love if it it talks about the art and sculpture. I might see if I can read that earlier to help me plan what I want to see!

  3. Apparently late to the party–and savidgereads already scooped me–but Miss Garnet’s Angel is a lovely book, the first book in a long time that actually made me cry at the end.

  4. I love both Death at La Fenice and Death in Venice. What about The Wings of the Dove by Henry James?

    • I’ve managed to get Death in Venice out of the library and am going to get Death a La Fenice from Amazon I think. I’m sort of tempted by Wings of a Dove but I worry it might be a bit heavy going as it’s only a few days holiday. Perhaps I should read it afterwards to reminisce!

  5. I loved The Passion, so hope you enjoy it.

    I haven’t read any of the others, so will be interested to hear what you think.

  6. A few less obvious gems from last year, all reeking of Venice –

    Elle Newmark – The book of Unholy Mischief
    Michelle Lovric – The Undrowned Child
    Edward Sklepowich – The Veils of Venice

    • ‘Reeking of Venice’ I like it. Thanks for the suggestions!! Your fictional cities lists are amazingly extensive, I will remember for future holidays…

  7. Pingback: Death in Venice by Thomas Mann «

  8. Pingback: Novel Insights 100th Post! « Novel Insights

  9. Pingback: Book Review – Les Liaisons Dangereuses, by Pierre Choderlos de Laclos « Novel Insights

  10. Pingback: Book Review – The Haunted Hotel, by Wilkie Collins « Novel Insights

  11. Pingback: Novel Insights February Review « Novel Insights

  12. Pingback: Book ideas for a trip to Venice? « Novel Insights

  13. Pingback: The Passion, by Jeanette Winterson « Novel Insights

Leave a Reply

