Booking Through Thursday – Thankful Thursday

Booking Through Thursday

A weekly meme.

This weeks question:

It’s Thanksgiving in the U.S.A. today, so I know at least some of you are going to be as busy with turkey and family as I will be, so this week’s question is a simple one:

What books and authors are you particularly thankful for this year?

This year I’m thankful for Alan Bennett and his wonderful Uncommon Reader which was short but sweet and made me smile. I keep forgetting it’s fiction and keep thinking of the Queen as this lovely bookaholic lady.

A close second would be Neville Shute for A Town Like Alice which has a leading lady I really admired.

I was swept away by Wilkie Collins’ sensational Armadale which features possibly the best femme fatale ever written, and was shocked by Lloyd Jones’ Mister Pip which I finally got around to reading!

And finally for a bit of mystery and suspense, Sophie Hannah for her brilliant thrillers, A.A.Milne for a good old fashioned murder mystery and Tom Rob Smith for one of the most gripping books I’ve read this year.

What books and authors are you thankful for this year?

21 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Thankful Thursday

  1. Ooooh what a superb selection. I need to read another Hannah soon in fact I might this weekend… crazy, I know. I am going to have a nightmare doing my end of year 13 favs as its been such a brilliant reading year… oh how vexing.

    I must get that A.A. Milne book too.

  2. I loved Child 44 too and I have The Other Half Lives on my TBR pile, I’m really looking forward to reading it after seeing so many positive reviews recently.

  3. I loved The Uncommon Reader! Read it last year :)

  4. It was you that I first heard of S Hannah, so look forward to reading her books but the book store didn’t have. I have put on my Christmas Wish list.

    Here is mine
    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2009/11/booking-through-thankful-thursday.html

  5. I haven’t read any of your choice but they sound great

  6. I can’t believe I never knew A.A. Milne wrote a murder mystery! It’s a good thing I have other book lovers to clue me in to what I’ve missed.

  7. I loved Mister Pip! I didn’t know that A.A Milne wrote a murder mystery either! You learn something new everyday! Thanks for the great post.
    Hugsxx

  8. You were right about The Uncommon Reader – it’s great!

  9. I’ve been contemplating borrowing Mister Pip when I next see it again at the library. Stories that take their basis from other stories usually puts me off but there’s been high praise for Mister Pip. And since I read Great Expectations this year, it might be a bad idea to read it.

    I do hope you’ll enjoy Larsson! The genre is not usually my cup of tea but I’ve been blown away by him (as you probably already know ;-) )

    And Wilkie Collins is awesome. You can always expect a thrilling read from him.

    • It’s so far removed from Dickens that it’s unlikely that you’ll find it annoying – it’s more about a man who reads Great Expectations and the community that listens. It’s also set in an island in the pacific – totally not Dickensian! I can’t wait to curl up with Larsson at Christmas.

  10. I’ll have to check these out. They look interesting!

Leave a Reply

